top of page

August: Artist Spotlight - Claire Forshaw

This month for our macro theme we've chosen to spotlight the amazing Claire Forshaw. Claire does a mix of stunning macro nature work and beautiful lifestyle, which you can find on her other Instagram account here. She captures incredible details in stunning rich tones, so be sure to check out the tips she shares with us for macro photography and don't miss the end where she combines macro and lifestyle in some truly awesome droplet shots!


xx



Tell us about your photography journey...


I purchased my camera just before we went into lockdown and it was a great way for me to keep creative during those hard times. The macro lens was the first lens I bought and while living on the outskirts of a small German town, I had lots of nature around to inspire me.



Tell us a bit about your style...


I love dark and moody! I feel the parts of nature that's usually overlooked can be dark and moody, but incredibly beautiful!



What gear do you use?


I'm currently using a Canon M50 with a Canon 28mm Macro lens.



What's your go to lens and why?


Definitely the Canon 28mm macro lens. I've honestly never experimented with any other macro lens, I've never felt the need to. This lens works perfectly for what I'm aiming to achieve.



Who and what inspires you?


Nature inspires me for sure. The tiny unseen details, the beauty, the way it's constantly changing. And my daughter, the way she looks at nature, so amazed and full of wonder. I'd love to create this feeling within my photos.



What tips do you have for shooting macro?


Be patient and still. Take your time to really stop and look at everything and enjoy the moment. For me macro photography is about being still, being alone in nature and sharing your findings.



What macro image are you most proud of and/or love the most and why?


My favourite are probably my water drop images. Especially the ones which feature my family inside. I love these because I enjoy the challenge and when they work, they are really interesting and beautiful.




69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page