top of page

November: Artist Spotlight - Angie Mahlke

I thought it was about time we spotlighted the mother of p52clicks, the brains behind the project and one who keeps us all beautifully organised every month. I'm talking about the amazing Angie Mahlke! Details are her jam, whether it's close up or a wider scene there is always so much to take in within her images that add to the story it's telling. Read on to learn about her photography journey, inspirations and top tips for capturing details.


Abi xx



Tell us about your photography journey...


I suppose my journey is similar to most momtogs. I orginally picked up my camera to snap photos of my tiny babies that were growing too fast. Soon I realized I liked more than just preserving memories, I also enjoyed the art behind creating a beautiful photo, too. I joined photography communities and soaked up as much information from them as I could, learning and growing and developing my own personal voice and style.



Tell us a bit about your style...


My style is a hybrid mix between lifestyle and documentary, probably more heavy on the lifestyle these days. I love telling stories using movement, emotion and color. I tend to gravitate toward yellows, blues and pinks in my work.



What gear do you use?


Up until recently I rocked my old Canon 6D for years and years. I just got a mirrorless, a Canon R6, that I'm still learning and experimenting with.



What's your go to lens and why?


My 35mm pretty much never leaves my camera body. I like the versatility of it. It was especially useful when my kids were younger and I didn't feel comfortable being too far away from them. I love the compression of my 85mm, but it's hard to rewire my brain to remember to get enough distance between myself and my subject. I feel like I'm constantly backing up and then backing up some more to compose the image the way I'd like.



Who and what inspires you?


Moments inspire me. Since I can't turn the photographer part of my brain off, I feel like I'm constantly walking around as if I'm looking through a camera viewfinder, composing images in my brain all the live long day. I'll notice yummy light or pretty shadows and - CLICK - I've mentally taken a photo. I'll see a person framed perfectly between trees - CLICK. I'll discover a field of wildflowers while out driving around - CLICK. I'll be experiencing a mundane moment of my day and suddenly - CLICK - I instantly see the photo it could be. Once you start viewing the world like every single thing has potential to be created into art, it's hard not to be constantly inspired.



What tips do you have for shooting details?


Details are in everything. It's the way you use them that matters the most. From closeup detail shots to storytelling shots from a pull-back perspective, it's important to be conscious of the "why" and the "how" of the details. Why are these details important (the story or the reason) and how do you want to use the details (composition)? Once you hash out those two questions, photographing details will become second nature.



For example, let's say the detail is your son's eyelashes. The "why" could be that you're fascinated with how long and dark they are. The "how" could be zeroing in on his closed eye to see the length of the lashes against his skin. You wouldn't need to include a lot in the frame, insteading focusing on a closeup of the detail.



Whereas, if the detail is your daughter's messy room, the "how" will look much different. That's because the "why" (showcasing the utter disaster of the room) dictates that you include much more in the scene. Instead of getting up close on the detail, like you would with the eyelashes, you would want to back up and include the big picture, including as many of the individual details (scattered toys, discarded clothes, artwork, half-eaten snacks, etc) of the room that make up the whole detail.



What details image are you most proud of and/or love the most and why?


My favorite detail image is actually from a few years ago. I have tried to recreate this image a few times over the years, but the original will always remain my favorite. I took it at a time where I didn't really have a firm grasp on storytelling details; and studying this image after the fact was an eye-opener for me. I was starting to see how I could tell stories with photography.


The image I am talking about is of my daughter standing on a window ledge one morning, waving at her brothers on the school bus as it drives by.



153 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page