top of page

Creative Composition by Tiff Terry

Creative Composition by Tiff Terry

Hey, there! I’m Tiff over at @tlovesr on Instagram as well as @TerryFarmsPhotography. My husband and I are raising our three free spirited kids on a farm in Michigan and I’ve really enjoyed getting to document our farm life through the lens of my Nikon. I’ve learned a lot from several incredible artists over the years and it has helped me immensely in finding my voice in storytelling, whether it be my personal work or with my incredible clients.

This month some amazingly talented photographers have broken down the elements and rules of composition. Understanding composition opens the door (like a huge door...I’m talking two car garage door) to the infinite possibilities of creative images.

Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35mm, ISO 640, f/1.4, ss 1/400

Layering, Shape


I have quite a few favorite elements of composition I like to incorporate into my work. Most often than not, I have several compositional components occurring simultaneously in an image and that tends to happen naturally when I intentionally shoot for a specific compositional element.

For example, when I spot a great framing opportunity, I end up with several shapes in my image and sometimes even repetition and leading lines. Many elements go hand in hand, which makes for a very appealing photo.


Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 100 , f/2.2, ss 1/1250

Layering, Shape, Repetition (lines)


Getting Started

When I pick up my camera to shoot, I typically start with the element that compelled me to grab my camera in the first place. For me, that’s typically leading lines and layering. Figure out what foundations you usually notice first and then shoot with that in mind.


Nikon Z6, Lensbaby Burnside 35, ISO 100, f/2, 1/2000

Layering (depth), shape (triangles)

After I get the shot I want with the compositional elements I had in mind, I like to take a second and look around -- are there any other compositional elements I missed? Is there opportunity to change my perspective to find a way to layer, frame or mirror? Never stay in one spot when shooting -- walk around, lay on the ground and climb up high. There are SO many ways to see and you never know what a change of perspective can bring!



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 24-70mm, ISO 250, f/4.5, ss 1/250

Framing, symmetry, negative space


LAYERING

Shooting through objects for layering might be my absolute favorite element and probably the one I intentionally do the most. It adds depth not only visually, but also in the story I’m telling.



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 200, f/2.5, ss 1/400

Shape, framing, leading lines, symmetry

For example, my son was spending a lazy summer morning on the hammock in the photo below. I could have taken the photo standing camera right, shooting straight at him. But by going between the tree and the hammock ropes and shooting through, it helped give my viewer the impression of peering into a more quiet, private moment where the subject may not even realize you are there.



Nikon Z6, Lensbaby Burnside 35, ISO 640, f/4 SS 1/500

So, by simply shooting through the ropes for layering, it naturally had other compositional elements -- diagonal lines (leading lines), framing and repetition.

I have another example of shooting through (since I love it oh-so much), but from a different perspective. My daughter was walking through this large tunnel and I was immediately drawn to the leading lines and backlight. But the tunnel also created shape, repetition and symmetry.



Nikon D850, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 500, f/3.2, ss 1/320

SCALE


A good chunk of my personal work is documentary of our children, so scale plays a major role in my storytelling. I love showing just how small kids are to the wide world around them.



Nikon Z6, Lensbaby Burnside 35, ISO 320, f/2, ss 1/400

Framing, Layering

In the photo below, I took my two-year-old hiking on a favorite trail. All three of my kids love these stairs, despite how long it takes them to get up and down them. I hung back as my daughter ran toward them because she was in the stage of “I do it myself”. I wanted to convey that in the image and showing the scale of a little girl and the huge staircase helped send that message.



Nikon D850, Nikkor 135mm, ISO 125, f/2, ss 1/800

The steps zigzagging also created lovely leading lines for the eye to follow beginning from the left corner with my subject to the top right where the steps end. The tree leaves surrounding the stairs bring great texture and depth, too.

MIRRORING



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 1000, f/2.8, ss 1/200

Mirroring, Center Composition for Leading Lines to Subjects

I have a favorite spot to shoot client sessions during the warmer months purely for the mirroring option. This point of the river is extremely shallow (perfect for families with small kids) and still. It is an ideal spot to mirror an amazing sunrise or sunset full of color.



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35mm, ISO 800, f/2.5, 1/320

Mirrors and windows are also great tools for reflecting and mirroring.



Nikon D850, Nikkor 35mm, ISO 200, f/2.5, ss 1/1000

Mirroring, Layering, Framing, Shape


Mirrors and windows are also great tools for reflecting, but another simple way to incorporate mirroring in your composition is with something you most likely have on you nearly all the time -- your phone



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 24-70mm, f/2.8, ss 1/320

Mirroring, leading lines repetition, shapes



In the images above and below, I used my iPhone to mirror my shot. It takes playing around and trying different tilts, but I find the most success by putting my phone ever so slightly at the bottom of my lens. I have a loop on my phone case where I am able to slip my left index finger into it to hold my phone and steady it. Then I slightly tile the iphone forward or backward to get the composition I like best.



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 24-70mm, f/2.8, ss 1/80

Mirroring, leading lines, shapes, symmetry


As you can see with the two images I’ve shared mirroring with my iPhone, I really like to showcase beautiful architecture by mirroring. But, also play around with different angles and try mirroring from the side of your lens instead of above or below. There are so many options that can create such a fun element to the image!

I wanted to share one more example of using mirroring, but I cannot take credit for it. The image below was taken in artist Yayoi Kusama’s Fireflies on the Water exhibit, which uses mirrors, plexiglass, lights and water to reflect and create the illusion of infinity. I took one of my daughters to see the exhibit, because I knew it would be incredible to see in person. And it was. I how mesmerized she was by the appearance of infinity even though we were in a tiny room.


Nikon Z6, Nikkor 24mm, ISO 10,000 , f/2.8, ss 1/200

Repetition, Mirroring, Layering, Shape

***I should note, I removed myself from this image in photoshop***



SHAPES & FRAMING

The last creative composition technique I wanted to touch on is framing and shapes. Shapes literally make up the world around us. Identifying them and intentionally incorporating them into your story to enhance it goes a long way with appeasing the human eye.



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 100, f/5, ss 1/320

Shapes, framing, perspective, layering, symmetry



Nikon Z6, Lensbaby Velvet 56, ss 1/800

Shapes, repetition, negative space


In the photo below, I used the large, open door to the barn to frame my daughters who were checking on the sheep. The vertical lines of the barn wood created nice leading lines to my girls allowing the eye to follow them down to my subjects. The barn siding also brings repetition. The square framing the girls repeats, too -- the barn quilt and square frame of the wood fencing above my toddler..



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 35 mm, ISO 160, f/4, ss 1/500



Nikon Z6, Nikkor 24-70mm, f/2.8, ss 1/640

Leading lines, negative space

SO, NOW WHAT?

There’s a lot that makes up composition, not to mention trying to apply it in a fun, creative way. It can be overwhelming, but guess what? You got this.

Start simple. Try focusing on one element a week -- identify every time you shoot and see how you can execute it in different ways. You’ll be surprised how quickly your eye catches on.

Because I played sports my whole life, I like to parallel some analogies when challenging myself to a new concept or technique -- build muscle memory. How do you do that? You practice it over and over and over again. Repetition builds muscle memory and well, memory in general! The more you shoot for composition and search for every creative aspect you can find, the more it will become second nature. I can’t wait to see what you create!




429 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page