top of page

February: Artist Spotlight - Elysa Archibald

Updated: Jun 29, 2020


We are so incredibly excited to share the talented Elysa Archibald with you this month as our Details Feature Artist! Elysa's work has the most beautiful golden tones, magical light and magnificent use of details, we hope you enjoy reading more about her and wonderful work!



Tell us a little bit about your photographic journey.....

I started almost 8 years ago when my oldest daughter was born. My dad bought me a Nikon D3100 as my baby gift. I had no clue how to use it. I joined every photography board I could find and just started reading. I was a brand new, first time mom and didn’t have the time to take any formal lessons or classes. So everything I learned was from photography communities online and lots of trial and error. I’m still learning and hope to continue to grow.



Tell us a bit about your style.....

I think my style would probably be described as dark and moody. I love shadows and really warm, golden tones.


What gear do you use?

Nikon D750 and a Sigma Art 35mm f1.4



Whats your go to lens and why?

My Sigma 35mm. I feel like it’s so versatile! It’s great in my house; if the kids are on the floor next to me, I can stay close and still get the shot. But I also bring it to the beach or Disney world or any of our adventures and it’s great for that too.



Who and what inspires you?

My kids. I’m not sure if I would have ever picked up a camera if it weren’t for them. I know it’s cliché, but it goes by so quickly! I love photography, but my ultimate goal is just capturing our everyday. I want to remember all of the little things, the details that will change too soon, and this is the best way I know how to do that.



What tips do you have for shooting details?

Details theme has been a huge challenge for me. I felt like I was limited to macro shots. The more I’ve practiced and really thought about what details means to me, I’ve realized it does not have to be macros of one detail. The photo of my son eating breakfast is a favorite because it has so many details about him that I want to remember at this age: sitting on his knees because he can’t reach the table, crazy bed head, his duck lovey always tucked under his arm, and the dimples on his little fingers. So i guess for me the main tip I would give would be to not feel boxed in by one type of shot.



What details image are you most proud of &/or love the most and why?

I think my favorite is the one of my middle daughter picking flowers. It shows some of my favorite details of her at this stage like her long curls and her love of flowers. It was also my first time trying to make my own bokeh in camera vs using an overlay. I picked a vine of flowers, made a loop with it, and held it in front of my lens. I love how it turned out.




200 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page