top of page

January: Artist Spotlight - Hay Mason

Updated: Jun 29, 2020



Welcome to our first ever Feature Artist Blog! This is an exciting new monthly blog post where we will be shining the spotlight on members of our community who are doing absolutely amazing stuff! This month we are so excited to share with you the breathtaking work of the wonderful Hay Mason and find out a little bit more about her and journey.......


What gear do you use?

- Nikon D750

- Sigma art 50mm

- Sigma 1.4 85mm 1.4

- Sigma 70-200mm 2.8


Tell us a little bit about your photographic journey....


My whole family loves photography. My dad and my uncle did film photography, while my Grandpa, on my mom's side, also loved photography. I can’t remember a time not having a camera in my hands. I didn’t really start to do actual photography until I was 14 years old. I loved Photoshop and would take pictures of anyone that would let me. I would just sit and edit for hours. Now I’m 25 with 3 kids and I can’t imagine not capturing their life! I also cherish the photos and videos I have as a child.




Tell us a bit about your style.....

My style is still a work in progress, always will be. But in my soul I gravitate towards everything moody and romantic. I love clouds and indoor light is just part of me I love the way shadows can create so much emotion in such a simple picture.




Who and what inspires you?

Oh man! Can I say everything. Books, movies, panting, light, shadows. My family. I love the way Pixar can make a short film and have such a emotional story. I’m not one to be really inspired by people but emotions around me.



What tips do you have for shooting in low light?

Don’t be afraid of it. I find that people think it’s bad lighting and don’t realize that you can make magic in “bad lighting.” Don’t be afraid to bump up your ISO. I love shooting close to window light the closer to the light the better.



What low light image are you most proud of &/or love the most and why?

It’s hard for me to make composites low light and I was so proud after this image!



274 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page