top of page

June Highlight Reel, 2

What a fun month this has been. I am pleasantly surprised by how many of you embraced this theme. I love when photographers push themselves outside of their comfort zone. With busy schedules, it can be difficult to go the extra mile to do something different, but when we do, we grow as individuals, photographers, and artists. Diptychs are a way to express ourselves through so many techniques and y'all did such an amazing job with them. Here are some of my favorites from the end of June.


XOXO

Gossip Girl, I mean... Wendi





Gear: Go pro hero 8 black

Settings: Left: iso100 1/2000 f/2.8 Right: iso100 1/1000 f/2.8

The Shot: I’ve been inspired by a lot of photographers on Instagram who shoot on gopros so at the beach on Friday I only brought the GoPro. When I saw that my sister matched the shovel I saw a diptych right away

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom adjusted the colors in the left image and bright down the highlights in both





Gear: Canon 5D Mark II 50MM 1.8

Settings: Top Image: 1/750 sec., f/2.8, ISO 100, Bottom Image: 1/500 sec., f/2.8, ISO 100

The Shot: Found this interesting pocket of light in my sons room. wanted to capture his alone time with his new toy. tried using different perspective

Post Processing: Used Annicks Preset with decresing the exprosure around and increased temp around to balance the colours.





Gear: Nikon D5500, Tamron f2.8 17-50

Settings: Left 1/200 f7.1 50mm ISO 200. Right 1/640 f5.0 50mm ISO 200

The Shot: Left: I got down low and shot up towards the sun so that the ferns were backlit. Right: With the sun behind me I shot the shadow of the ferns on the path.

Post Processing: Both photos have been edited in PS using gradients and curves to enhance colours and contrasts. The shadow photo has also had the joining line of paving slabs removed.




Gear: Both Nikon D750, Sigma Art 35 mm

Settings: L: iso 1250, 1/320, f3.2 R: iso 320, 1/1000, f 3.2

The Shot: L: I wanted to do a before and after. It was a hot summer day so I took the kids to go get slurpees. The image on the left is the slurpee machine taken indoors. I used auto white balance because the light was so funky. R: after my daughter was finished drinking her slurpee I had her stick her tongue out at me so you could see it turn blue. There's the after.

Post Processing: This that was hard to edit because of how different the lighting was inside the store versus outside where I took my daughter's picture. I started with the image on the left and Lightroom. Increased vibrance and worked really hard with the white balance to try and get the cap on the handle to be truly white. Then I brought the other image into Lightroom and used the numbers on the histogram to the right to get the blue on her tongue to match. Then I used a lot of brush work to get her skin tone to be the right color for the time of day. I also used a brush to extend the blue on her tongue just a little bit. For some reason she must drink to the back of her mouth




Gear: Canon 5DIV, Sigma 35 mm f/1.4

Settings: Wide shot: f/2.2, 1/3200 sec, ISO 100; Detail shot: f/5.0, 1/500 sec, ISO 400

The Shot: I wanted to capture a bit of the feeling of picking strawberries (an annual adventure) so I went for a a wide shot relatively low to the ground and a detail shot at ground level.

Post Processing: In Lightroom I added contrast, reduced the highlights, increased saturation and vibrancy a bit and used the HSL panel to alter colours. In Phoshop I did a sky replacement using their tool and I created the diptych.





Gear: Nikon D810, Nikkor 24-70mm

Settings: ISO 500, f2.8, 1/2503.

The Shot: My kids found a jar with shells and loved to play with them. It occupied the girls (and me!) for an hour at least. The space is very tight and I had to use my zoom lens. It was a bit dark, so I had to adjust my setting. I tried to take different angles.

Post Processing: I used Lightroom for a quick edit and put the images together in photoshop.




Gear: Canon Rebel T6, 24mm

Settings: ISO 100, 2.8, 1/160

The Shot: I was visiting my aunt as she sets a new art center in her tiny resort community. I noticed this tiny white flower amongst the weeds. I took a close up first and then took a wider shot to get it in it’s environment.

Post Processing: I edited both in Light Room by increasing exposure, contrast, auto WB, added clarity and luminance. For the environment pull back, I added a radial filter to add some directional light and then had to decrease highlights and whites on the flower with a brush. I darkened the edges slightly. I then took both into Photoshop, adding them to a blank canvas and adjusting so the heights matched and the cropped the remaining white canvas off.





Gear: Canon RP first picture with Canon Ef 1.8 lens using the adapter. Second picture was with Canon Rf 35mm 1.8

Settings: First picture settings were ISO 100, SS 640, f2.8 the second picture was ISO 500, SS 125, f4

The Shot: Both pictures were taken on separate occasions as part of my personal 365 project. I took the second picture first back in March inspired by a post I’d seen on pininterest. The second picture was taken in the garden on one of the first warm days of the year. I love the lighting the garden swing gets in the the afternoon so I take lots of pictures there. I was just scrolling through my images to see if I had any pairings that would work. My daughters pointed toe has always reminded me of a ballet dancer which then made me look for the picture of my ballet shoes and then when I realised her body looked like an ‘L’ I decided to crop my second picture so it would spell ‘Love’.

Post Processing: Both images were edited in LR mobile. I applied basic edits to both. Added clarity, dehaze, and texture. The first picture has a slight vignette and converted both to black and white. I joined them using the FrameMagic app.






Gear: Canon Powershot SX260 / Canon 450D 10-22

Settings: 1/1250 f4 ISO100 / 1/500 f11 400

The Shot: Pic 1 of the red umbrella was taken on the Promenade in Nice. You can walk for miles along the sea front. The blue awning and umbrellas really pulled my eye, and the red umbrella was such pleasing anomoly, I took a quick snap. Pic 2 was taken on a breezy and chilly Woolacombe beach in Devon, which is one of our favourite beaches. This van is here every day, rain or shine, parked up in the middle of the beach. I always feel the need to photograph it, not sure why. Could be the striking colours, or maybe it's the geometry of it's shape contrasting against the wild waves and miles of sand.

Post Processing: Slight adjustments to horizon lines, a little crop and a couple of swimmers in Nice were removed so the umbrella stood out cleanly. They are pretty much SOOC




Those are just a few, so if you were not featured this time, please keep trying!! I felt like we had a lot of shares in the group but not as many in the photo dump so make sure you are putting your image there!! Thanks for making this a fun month and on to a favorite for July with Full Sun!


90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page