top of page

Low Light by Jyotsna Bhamidipati

Updated: Dec 4, 2019

Hey everyone! This is Jyotsna Bhamidipati (Jyo) from @mbmphotographs! I am also a clickpro as well as a clickin moms mentor and I live in Sacramento, California with my family.


Self Portrait with Canon Mark IV; Sigma 85mm. Light is falling on me from the front during the golden hour

My favorite kind of light to work with

I love working with all types of light but my favorite kind of light to work with is usually low light. For those who follow my work; it's no secret that I am a BIG fan of chasing shadows in my work and using hard light to tell a story. So, let me tell you something that I never shared before - There used to be a time when I was a big fan of the golden hour light (I still love it..) but after a while I started to feel it got repetitive for me. I love experimenting with my vision and I'm always on the hunt to find something new to work with and challenge myself. Even with low light, I love to find pockets of light around me. Low light can be dramatic or soft. I do love both; but my favorite of the two is dramatic light. Light that has a slight punch, that is more visible in an obvious way. The shadows that come out of this kind of light. Here’s a few tips on how you can work with low light and get creative as well.


The power of just ONE window


a. Side Light

In the past, there was a time I was struggling with - my house isn't pretty enough, or I don't have those big fancy windows like xyz does, or what if I had 4 windows in this room instead of just one? Well, in reality; if you love low light and like to create images that represent 'mood' - one window is all you really need. Well; two windows in the same direction (or the same wall would be great too..)..but when it comes to using window light, I love love using side light. I really sit really close to the window (but still keep it out of the frame) and face the window so that the light subtly falls on my face and illuminates it. If you are photographing your kid and he/she is willing; you can take two minutes of their time (bribing with candy works!) and see how easy it is to use this light to create. Now, depending on how much you underexpose and your vision - you can choose to shoot a darker portrait or something a little less dark; but still elegant and subtle light falling on them. One tip is to pay attention to their eyes. In most of my 'semi posed' but yet natural looking portraits; I really like my subjects to look back at me. I know while this may seem 'traditional'; I think that intentional eye contact is really powerful.



Now; let’s look at some examples of front light from the window.


b. Front Light from the window

Front light on you during daytime - Front light from the window is really good for storytelling. The light would be more even on your subject and there is less drama here in these images (Especially if you shoot during the daytime).


Front light; morning light

Front light from the window is really good for storytelling and the light is more even on your subject. In this shot; my little girl was right near the sliding door/window and I shot this from above.

Front light during golden hour.

Pocket of light

This is again like a pocket of light falling from the window. You can place your subject in that pocket of light, expose for your subject; and this way your background goes into shadows neatly. You will even have shadows of your subject to work with and you can get as creative as you can with it. The light will be more ‘orangish’ so keep that in mind while you adjust your white balance as needed.


Dappled light

Dappled light indoors can happen with various props such as fabric that can be placed between you and the window with your simple everyday blinds. The more you underexpose (say 2 stops or so) you can use that light available on your subject creatively to show a certain mystery.

Now that we looked at what just a simple window can do and how you can use that same window by positioning your subject slightly different and get different results out of it; let’s look at two different types of low light strategies.



Soft Light

Light is soft here. Rarely there are shadows. This is still low light and has a certain ‘mood’ to it to aid the story in your image; but the light is ‘cleaner’. Rarely there are lines here or a punch. This is usually best achieved with morning light. The light is rising up; getting higher in the sky and is still soft when it enters your house. If you place your subject facing the window; or shoot from above with light falling on your subject’s face - the light is soft and your subject is beautifully illuminated. The images feel inspired by the Dutch masters. You can highlight the textures in your images as well during your editing.



Hard light

Hard light is usually avoided in images traditionally as it can be unpleasing if not used appropriately. However; with a little imagination and stretching your creativity; you can use that hard light to enhance the image and give it that extra ‘wow’ factor. With hard light; you will see lines, ‘light lines’ caused by the windows and doors around your space.



Pocket of light with shadows

This image was created with the window light coming in from the right; while I also used a fog machine. Fog machine, burnt bacon; atmosphere aerosol all aid in enhancing those already existing light rays. With that light falling on the wall; I just asked my son to play in there and then sat behind and captured his play!


Dramatic light with a pocket of light

I placed with my subject in that pocket of light and with the placement of him and during post processing; I made this image to be a black/white with ‘inverse’ light (dark on one side of his face and lighter on other).


Low light is fun to work with. When you have sun; you get pockets of light to play with. With no sun to work with; you get to be more creative with side light or front light without the pockets or shadows. Remember to underexpose to bring your vision to life. A few other ways to experiment with low light is to use artificial light during night time or other artificial light sources such as fridge light, washer/dryer light or even ipad light etc. I would love to see what you share from the tips here!


Thank you


1,132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page