top of page

May: Artist Spotlight - Amelia Schulte

This month's Artist Spotlight is the lovely Amelia Schulte. She has such a keen eye for turning those average daily moments into beautiful mood provoking images, and documenting her furry friends as well! Dive into this artist spotlight to find out how Amelia finds inspiration, and some of her favorite tips and tricks for Layering photography.


Tell us about your photography journey...

As a kid I remember taking a class through Girl Scouts on outdoor photography. I used a disposable camera, the prints were out of focus and crooked, but I absolutely LOVED the experience and never forgot about how excited the class made me feel. Fast forward to a year ago and my husband surprised me with a DSLR camera for my birthday! My sister- in- law, who is also a photographer, challenged me to join her on a 365 journey. Completing a 365 was such a great experience that forced me to keep learning and challenging myself to pick up my camera and try something, even through a pandemic! I enjoyed it so much I've started my 2nd 365 this year.



Tell us a bit about your style...

My goal when shooting and editing is to create a moody picture that still captures the vibrance and color of the moment.



What gear do you use?

I just upgraded to a Nikon 750!


What's your go to lens and why?

I am currently going through a lens-identity crisis! You can't go wrong with a 35mm lens to capture everyday life, but there's something about a good wide shot with a 24mm or a dreamy, creamy portrait with an 85mm that really grabs me! Lately at the beginning of each week I pick one lens and challenge myself to shoot mainly with that lens (unless inspiration strikes and I need another!). I've found this is a great way to push myself and keep things stay fresh!



Who and what inspires you?

I'm very blessed to have an intimate community of photographers right in my own family. My sister-in-law, Dana Whitley, has been an unimaginably patient and helpful teacher, especially as I muddled through learning to shoot in manual and working lightroom! My other sister-in-law, Sarah Schulte, and I started our photography journey at the same time. It has been so fun to have another friend learning alongside you who is willing to let you take their picture whenever you have an idea!



What tips do you have for shooting Layering?

  • Pull back and fill the frame. Make sure you are telling the whole story of the moment you are capturing. Who all is there? Can you fit them all in the frame, even if they aren't in focus? Where are you? Is there a way to make it more clear where you are, even if it makes your subject smaller? I find that leading lines can often help create layers and paint more of a full picture.

  • Play with your focus! This one is fun because it challenges you to see more than one subject, even if you only focus on one. Bring your focus closer or farther away than you usually do, creating a blurred surroundings. As long as you don't bring down your aperture too much (I'd recommend nothing below f1.8) people can still identify the blurs and it tells more of the story in a creative way.

  • Shoot! Through! Things! Anything- for real! Chairs, swings, monkey bars, windows- shooting through things automatically creates a foreground layer and if you have enough space to pull back, you'll be able to see the background as well!

  • Don't be afraid of the blur. Let's be real: With layers, you just can't have everything in focus. Accept this, accept that your picture isn't going to be perfect, and capture the moment. Let your subject move, and with it the field of focus. This will create unique layering effects that may surprise you!



What Layering image are you most proud of and/or love the most and why?

I took this while on a hike with my 2 nephews. I love this picture, first of all because of the vibrant colors, but also because I felt like I captured the whole memory of this adventure, while still being able to find a balance between all the layers. I loved how I could include the trail in my foreground, creating a backstory for where we were, as well as the clouds and barn in the background, with the boys nestled nicely in the middle The layers subtly draw in the eye toward the boys, but also tell a story of a bright, lovely spring day.




93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page