top of page

May: Highlight Reel, 1

Layers is one of my favorite techniques to explore, because I love how much depth, perspective, and storytelling it adds to an image. I loved how everyone used them in their images to really pull me in as a viewer, and give an interesting peek into your daily lives. Here's a handful of my favorites from the first half of this month!


Layered like an onion,



Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, Sigma 35mm

Settings: ISO 800, f/4.0, 1/250

The Shot: I noticed my daughter playing in some pretty light that was coming in from the window. I grabbed my camera and got down low to frame her in the centre of the photo where the lines from the cabinets and refrigerator intersected.

Post Processing: I edited this in LR using a Baby Rose preset, lifted shadows and brought down highlights.



Gear: Canon EOS M, Sigma 16mm contemporary lens.

Settings: f/4.0, 1/1250, IOS 100

The Shot: I positioned myself on the sand, laying flat, to capture the layers of abandoned sand castles, then took this shot as a father and child stood close to the water and another person walked through the scene, much closer to me.

Post Processing: Minimal Lightroom editing, including warming color balance slightly and adjusting highlights, shadows, and contrast.



Gear: Nikon D850

Settings: 1/8000, f1.4, ISO640

The Shot: My dog is OBSESSED with bubbles. The kids were blowing their bubbles in the back yard and I attempted to catch our dog's enthusiasm for popping them. I put my shutter speed up high and shot on continuous. 99% of the photos, the her face looked absolutely crazy, and not at all photo worthy, but I managed to get this happy accident of her face through the bubble.

Post Processing: I edited this in LR first and added the Mastin Labs Portra 160 preset plus my own tweaks on it. I brought it into photoshop and removed an awkward looking kid that was in the background as well as an umbrella. There was only a couple other small bubbles besides the one framing her face, so I took bubbles from some of the other frames and composited them in.



Gear: Canon eos r 35mm 1.8

Settings: iso6400 1/160 4.5

The Shot: I had this idea to get her looking at the fish though the fish tank but she ran away after my second test shot before the fish swam into place so I added these fish in photoshop.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom and photoshop to bring down the highlights in the background and add that ocean blue to everything.


Gear: Canon Rebel T6, 24mm prime

Settings: ISO 100, f3.5, 1/250

The Shot: It was early evening and the shade finally hit the house. I stood in front of them and waited for something to happen, and destiny came in the form of layers!

Post Processing: Edited in LightRoom using black and white preset. Lowered highlights slightly, painted slight exposure on the girls, brought down the whites, and added a vignette



Gear: Nikon D610 50mm

Settings: ISO 800, f1.8, 1/4000sec

The Shot: Went to the Nashville Botanical gardens

Post Processing: Edited in photoshop just some basic adjustments and straightening of the photo



Gear: Fujifilm x100v

Settings: F/2 1/320 23mm

The Shot: I was sitting on the other end of the couch and just happened to notice they layers with my husbands legs and the my daughter as the main subject. I move my camera around to give each subject their own space so that they didn’t overlap.

Post Processing: I just made some small tweaks on my phone. I brought exposure up little and straightened the photo. I did go into photoshop to get rid of a cord that was hanging in the photo.




Gear: Always my Nikon D750 and Tamron 35mm 1.4

Settings: ISO 5000, f/4.0, SS 1/100

The Shot: : I don't know if you can even see it this small, this is an image that does better on a larger screen BUT I was sitting outside with my mom on the balcony at the beach, so I wanted to try to combine the two scenes. You can see her reflection in the doorway, and you can also see my son playing his tablet inside. I had to raise my ISO pretty high because it was dusk, and I was trying to get a proper exposure to help eliminate noise. I wanted to make sure everyone had their own space in the image so each subject was clear.

Post Processing: I generally keep my editing pretty minimal but I increased exposure a bit, lifted the shadows, adjusted my white balance, and increased luminance to reduce some noise




Gear: Fuji XT3 with Viltrox 23mm

Settings: Iso 2500, f8, 1/125

The Shot: Along with other photographers I am challenging myself with a self portrait P52. This week I decided to take multiple versions of me baking.

Post Processing: I took lots images at different stages of baking and chose 3 that worked the best. I edited them initially in Lightroom using Elena Blair indoor preset adjusting the white balance, exposure and adding texture. I then used PS I placing the images together and using layers and masking they were edited into 1 image. This took me absolutely ages and is far from perfect but I am trying to slowly learn different skills in PS.



Gear: Canon 5DIV Canon 24-70 f/2.8

Settings: 1/320 sec, f/4.5, ISO 500

The Shot: My daughter loves serving me ice cream daily and I wanted to capture this with me in the frame so I included my hand and the ice cream as a layer.

Post Processing: In Lightroom I adjusted the temperature, contrast and exposure slightly and I straightened and cropped it and used the HSL panel to alter colours. In Photoshop I removed some distracting elements.



Gear: 1. Nikon D750, 85mm

Settings: ISO 100, F 2.2, 1/640 sec

The Shot: We went to the Tulip Festival and it was pretty crowded there. The easy way to avoid people in my pictures was taking details shot. Here I was laying down on the floor while my daughter was admiring the flowers

Post Processing: I edited in Lightroom using Smal01 preset. I removed grain and opacity, adjusted exposure and white balance, and reduced highlights. In Photoshop I removed a few distractions and applied Jessica Drossin’s overlay




Gear: Canon 6D Mark 2 with Canon 35mm 1.4

Settings: f/2.8 1/125 ISO 1250

The Shot: I stepped back to get a wider shot of my sons looking at the penguins. I exposed for the water/background so that the people in the foreground would be silhouette and the penguin and my sons would be exposed correctly but still slightly in shadow.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. Decreased exposure and blacks, brought highlights all the way down, increased whites and vibrance. Tone curve adjustment and added vignette.

217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page