top of page

October Artist Highlight - Alice Granda-Coppiano De Estrada

Updated: Dec 28, 2020

October: Artist Spotlight - Alice Granda


Our artist spotlight this month is Alice Granda-Coppiano De Estrada. Alice uses color so beautifully in her images. Her images are fun, childlike, yet feminine as well. I love seeing all of the bright colors in her images. Read more about what inspires Alice and how she creates such colorful, impactful images.



Tell us about your photography journey...


Well I first started taking pics with my phone thanks to instagram. Eventually I switched to a big girl camera and then downsized to a very basic camera a Canon rebel Sl2 for price and weight- my back and neck can't really handle anything bigger- and I'm always on the move, running at the beach or climbing trees so it fits. I think I learned most of what I know though this community. I took a few classes here and there and last year I attended the insta inspire retreat which was awesome! I was a little star struck haha! But it was wonderful to pick everyone's brains for a few days and Learn new things. I only wished photography had found me sooner in life so I would have more pictures of my 2 older kids as they were growing up... Emma on the other hand has pics of everything!






Tell us a bit about your style...


I used to struggle with this a lot. I always tried to adapt and sort of copy what I saw and what I loved in everyone else's work, and felt a little embarrased even that I couldn't follow the style or trend. My images were usually closer and more colorful than what I tried to emulate. So about a year and a half ago I decided it was over, I finally embraced ME. Who I am and what I love, stopped fighting it and just let it come out as it was. I think my favorite type of photography is up close and personal portraiture with TONS of color.







What gear do you use?


Like I said I use a Canon Sl2. My 50mm lens a 35mmlens and very rarely a 24-105 mm lens.  Sometimes I play around with my fav new addition a 45 sol lens baby.







What's your go to lens and why?


That has changed a lot too. I guess nowadays Is the 35 mm cause it allows a little bit more in the frame but since my camera is a cropped sensor then images sort of  feel like they were done with a 50 mm lens.








Who and what inspires you?


Art inspires me, from painting to music, theater and movies. Everyone on Instagram inspires me. I love watching all the different styles in their uniqueness. Life inspires me, traveling,  people particularly children, giggles, laughter, hugs, nature, and of course color!






What tips do you have for shooting Color Theory?


I guess the appropriate thing would be to learn about color theory but I would almost say go with your instinct, what feels right in terms of color, what makes something pop out or catch your eye. I would say don't be afraid of color and don't be afraid to experiment, if the end product doesn't satisfy you then just try again, no experimentation is ever wasted.







What Color Theory image are you most proud of and/or love the most and why?


I don't have a fav image. Of course some images bring lovely memories even if they don't get the likes or aren't Artistically "good". But to me my fav is usually my latest, and then the one in my head when I'm about to make it. I love a personal project of mine called #emmaandcolorfulthings just cause she's my rainbow baby and I wanted to honor her for always helping me out with pictures so it turned into a book I printed for her, and of course there is color everywhere!












105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page