top of page

October: Highlight Reel, 2

What a fun month this has started out to be! I love seeing the way you all embrace your creativity and are trying new techniques. There are so many way to play around with your creative side when it comes to photography. I love the feeling of trying something new or creative and getting that image that just speaks to me, you know the one that you see and it makes your heart skip a beat? When I have a moment like that while creating, I just know I am doing what I want to be doing. I hope as we continue on with this month and as you all try new or try to master not so new techniques, that you get that heart skipping feeling, because it is truly the best:)


xoxo,

Gear: Canon 5D Mark IV, 35 mm

Settings: 1/250, f/4.5, ISO 800

The Shot: I attached my cell phone with the flashlight on (facing the wall) to my daughters arm with a rubber band. This gave her a silhouette look.

Post Processing: Edited in LR with Soulmate 12 bnw preset. Adjusted blacks, exposure, removed grain. Took in PS and removed a few background objects, applied a blur to the background, and used a black brush to darken her silhouette.

Gear: Fuji XT3 with Helios lens

Settings: Iso 160, 1/250, f2.8

The Shot: I wanted to play around with the double exposure feature on my camera and take a pretty image of these flowers. I took the photo of the flowers as my base image then an image of what was through the window, trying to capture as much bokeh as possible as the overlay.

Post Processing: Edited in LR using Elena Blair outdoor preset. Added extra clarity, dehaze and texture as well as increasing the overall exposure. Then I added a few extra bokeh balls by using a free bokeh overlay.

Gear: Canon 70D, canon 24mm pancake lens on camera, canon 50mm lens used in image.

Settings: ISO 200, f4.5, 1/8000

The Shot: I had my 50mm on camera opened up aperture as wide as lens went (f.18), focused using auto focus and back focus button and then switched to manual focus and removed the lens. I then attached my 24mm lens and narrowed aperture. Holding the 50mm out in front of me and looking through camera until I had something in the lens that I liked and adjusting distance of my arm to camera to get focus in both lenses. Adjustments for the 50mm involved re-wiring brain as you had to move left for right - up for down etc.

Post Processing: I tried various b&w edits which gave it a different feel but I think I like the one in colour best. I used a preset that added contrast and detail and then increased the shadows and blacks to loose some of the green grass in the background so that the lens image was more focal.

Gear: Nikon D810, Nikkor 24-70 2.8

Settings: F2.8, 1/1250 ISO250 at 28mm

The Shot: I placed a perspex sheet supported by 2 chairs on each side, next to a window. I put peanut butter to keep my puppy interested on staying on the perspex sheet. I shoot from below with the ceiling as a background

Post Processing: I did basics adjustments in Lightroom (adjusted the white balance, lifted shadows on the legs, paws and tummy and added some clarity). In Photoshop I cropped the picture to remove the stool that was showing and did some cloning to remove peanut butter and saliva marks.

Gear: Canon EOS 1300D & 50mm

Settings: f/1.4 1/4000 ISO 100

The Shot: First time trying freelensing after seeing Abi’s video. I had a spare 20 mins so headed to the garden to give it a go.

Post Processing: Added tint and played with the tone curve. Took down highlights and shadows.

Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, Lensbaby Sol 45

Settings: ISO 400, 1/500 sec, f/3.5 (fixed)

The Shot: While my daughter played in the garden I sat back and manually focused so that I could catch her in focus while she was moving and blur everything around her. I love that I caught her little curl.

Post Processing: I edited this in Lightroom using a black and white preset from the Tricia Victoria Gold pack.

Gear: Canon 5D with 50 mm

Settings: iso 100, 1/320

The Shot: I freelensed this plant that I knew would make some interesting textures

Post Processing: I played around with the temperature, tone curve, the greens, calibration, and split toning

Gear: Canon 6D Mark II with 35mm 1.4

Settings: f/4 1/800 ISO 250

The Shot: shot this photo using the fence to have framing around my son while he was practicing

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom with Pretty Preset 'Clean Bright Color'. Cropped to remove distractions. Increased exposure, vibrance. Graduated filter on sky to lighten slightly and radial filter on son to brighten

Gear: Canon EOS 100d 50mm

Settings: 1/160, 1SO 100, freelensed

The Shot: I stood my vase of flowers on top of a chair on top of a table to get them up high enough such that the pretty light coming through the trees was directly behind them. Then I used freelensing to take the shot.

Post Processing: I added a flare overlay and a dust overlay to enhance the golden bokeh. I increased contrast and desaturated orange a little bit

Gear: Sony A7iii with Tamron 28-75 on 51mm

Settings: ISO 1250 f2.8 1/4

The Shot: We were staying at the beach for Fall break and driving home from dinner and I saw the beautiful pink sunset. My husband dropped me off in front of our rental and I ran out to the beach. I panned the camera as the shutter was released and I loved the energy that the beach house lights created with the intentional camera moment

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page