top of page

October: Highlight Reel, Movement


This month seemed to fly by, but all of you did an excellent job of getting out and shooting movement photos! I loved the variety of subjects, locations, and techniques that everyone used to get these movement shots. For those of you who are still hanging in there in the 11th month of the year, hang on just a little longer! You are all doing such a great job!


I like to move it, move it,


Gear: Nikon Z6ii, Sigma Art 35mm F1.4

Settings: ISO 100, f11, 1/10 sec

The Shot: I stayed in front of the area she was biking and tried to move my camera at the same speed of her bike trying to be as stable as possible

Post Processing: I used Smal Presets with some adjustments: white balance, removed grain, reduced exposure and highlights, … In Photoshop I added a little bit more Motion Blur




Gear: iphone XS back dual camera 6mm

Settings: 1/120 sec at f/2.4, ISO 32

The Shot: I only had my phone on me while walking on the beach at sunset. The timing of the sunset and bubble was perfect!

Post Processing: Imported it into Lightroom and applied the Pretty Preset Clean Rich Color




Gear: Canon 6dmii Lensbaby Sol 45

Settings: ISO 320 fixed 3.5 1/1600

The Shot: She loves a pole! The pole was inside a barn we visited - I took a couple of shots on burst mode as she went up and down - focusing manually after already setting my exposure before hand.

Post Processing: Straighten, crop, clarity, sharpen and a little dodge and burn around the hole



Gear: Panasonic DMC-GX7, 18mm

Settings: iso 200, 1/25, f/4

The Shot: My daughter has this pencil that has a pink butterfly at the end. She was making it moves so it looks magical. She is happy about the result .

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom, adjusted highlights and shadows.




Gear: Sony A7iii with Tamron 28-75.

Settings: f3.2 1/500 ISO 400

The Shot: My husband returned from 3 weeks of traveling and my daughters were enjoying him being home. I loved the layering and action in this shot, especially in both girls hair.

Post Processing:Edited with a simple B/W preset.



Gear: Nikon D750 plus 85mm prime lens

Settings: f2.8 iso 1000 ss 1/2500

The Shot: I had shot about a million of these images and couldn't decide which one I liked best. The one with her beautiful face didn't seem to capture the movement quite as well as the others. Clearly I had messed up with my exposure triangle as I didn't need such a fast shutter speed and could have dropped the iso but they balanced out fine as I exposed for the highlights in my daughter's hair (so easily blown).

Post Processing: I had no plans in post processing but was trying to cull the photos down but didn't really want to part with any. I therefore tried to combine them into a single image to convey the movement. I selected the base layer photo and pasted in the subject from two others. Then on these layers I used the motion blur tool and also lightened the opacity. I did each layer separately before merging them and adding all my standard edits (including several levels layers and a couple of presets i've made up that I use on everything).



Gear: .Nikon D7500, Tamron 18-27 mm lens

Settings: ISO 200, f/20, 1/25 sec

The Shot: This photo was taken in Stockholm, I sat and waited until I had people moving in front of the people sitting.

Post Processing:I hand edited in LR and PS.




Gear: Pentax K3. PENTAX-DA 10-17mm fisheye zoom @ 13mm.

Settings: 1/20 second f4 ISO1600.

The Shot: A merged stack of the final three frames of a burst, fired just before boarding this train. 1/20 sec for motion blur while the Pentax's excellent IBIS holds the background steady, given the fisheye lens. Baker Street, my favourite tube station, opened in 1863 as one of the original stations on the world’s first underground railway. This shot is taken from one of the two original platforms.

Post Processing:Auto-aligned and merged in PS. Working on the merged image, painted in extra exposure and clarity for the back of the station.





Gear: Sony a7iv, 35mm Sigma Art

Settings: 1/250, f1.4, ISO 100

The Shot: As we were watching the sunset on the beach, I got lower to the ground and challenged the boys to run toward the water. One leapt into the air, and I snapped the shot.

Post Processing: Minor crop to straighten and deepened the blacks.




Gear: Nikon z6, 50 mm

Settings: f1.8, ISO 64, .5 sec

The Shot: Told the subject to stand as still as possible while people walked around him.

Post Processing: LR SMAL 01, adjustments to sliders, contrast, shadows, and highlights

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page