top of page

September: Artist Spotlight - Sarah Warry

This month we are pleased to introduce you to our September spotlight artist Sarah Warry! Her composition images are absolutely beautiful, and her rich colors are swoon worthy. Continue reading for all the details on what makes Sarah's images stand out from the crowd, and what her tips and tricks are for her beautiful composition.



Tell us about your photography journey...

I’ve loved taking photos for as long as I can remember. I traveled a lot in my 20’s and at that time I had a point and shoot film camera. I fell even more in love with photography, but didn’t really take it up until later.  My hubby bought me a cropped frame camera and I picked it up here and there after our first was born, but I didn’t really start using it until after my third son was born. I really wanted to capture their childhood, they grow so fast and there is much I can't remember, but when I look at my photos it takes me straight back to that moment. I want to remember every little thing about my beautiful boys.  I’m still learning, each time I shoot I learn something new and I love it! I love the creative feeling and freedom of photographing my boys, it grounds me and brings so much joy.



Tell us a bit about your style...

I think my style is a bit of a mix. I’m drawn to rich and bold colours and to capturing emotion, connection and little moments that one day I’ll want to look back on. I mostly photograph families and I aim to capture the bond and connection that they have. When it comes to my boys I find myself being more free and creative. I love colour, emotion, storytelling and light and try to capture this as part of what I do.



What gear do you use?

I use a Nikon Z7 as my body and I love it! The switch to mirrorless wasn’t a seamless one but I would never switch back to a dslr now. I love how light and fast it is, the colours it produces and it’s features. I have a sigma art 35mm, 50mm, 135mm, a Nikon z mount 85mm, and my new lensbaby sol 45 and twist 60 which I am loving being creative with.



What's your go to lens and why?

My go to lens probably changes depending on where we are, but my 50mm is on my camera more than my other lenses. I love capturing my boys in the natural environment and showing how they fit into that. At the beach I always take my 35mm, I love showing the wide open spaces and the sky. If we are walking or in the bush I’ll take my 35mm or 50mm, again they are great storytelling lenses and I can show the whole story. My 85 and 135 produce the most dreamy bokeh and I pick those up more for portraits, though I do find myself taking my 85mm more and more on our adventures, as it’s so light on my camera compared to my sigma lenses and allows me to step back and just let my boys do their thing.



Who and what inspires you?

My inspiration is definitely my boys and their childhood paired with nature. I love capturing childhood and am fascinated by the way they learn, play and their affinity with the natural world. It’s such a fleeting time in their lives and I’m so aware of how quickly it passes. We spend a lot of time outdoors and love nature. I feel at home in nature and I love capturing them in it. The textures and colours, the beauty of it, it’s incredible.


What tips do you have for shooting composition?

I try and watch for a moment first and foremost and think about how it may look, I look for light second and then move around, shoot through things like trees and leaves, try shooting up if they are up high, down on them, to the side, I look for patterns and lines in nature, things that draw the eye to the subject. I love to include as much of the background as I can to tell the story of what is going on. I love to show the size of their environment compared to them, I move around a lot whilst the boys are playing and shoot and check my images as I go. I guess my biggest tip is to use your feet, move in, out, around, up, down and look for those patterns, textures and leading lines that draw the eye and offer some interest.



What composition image are you most proud of and/or love the most and why?

I love this image due to the negative space in it. My boys were running on a pier and I stood on the ground and watched them run, I tried to capture as much of the wall as I could and I love the feeling of freedom it gives with them running and how little they look against all that negative space.


177 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page