top of page

September: Highlight Reel, Self Portraits

I always love seeing the creative way you beautiful people get behind the frame. This past month was self portraits, a theme that typically scares people off. You guys rose up to the challenge and got behind your lens for some really great shots!


Peace love and selfies,




Gear: Nikon D750, Nikkor 24mm 1.8

Settings: f/7.1, ISO 1000, SS 1/50

The Shot: Oh boy. It was a pain in the ass. I first had to set up the table the way I wanted it to look, then I used a mirror to reflect some window light back on me. Lastly, I use an app on my phone to take the pictures so that I can adjust my posing. I bet you, I took 100 photos to get this one because I was trying to figure out the posing.

Post Processing: General edits in Lightroom - slight increase in clarity, using temp/tint to correct white balance, and then I brought into Photoshop. I did frequency separation on my skin, a bunch of dodging and burning, I had to replace my phone that I thought wasn't showing with some flowers, I straightened the lines, and I did some slight color grading, though not as much as I usually do.




Cris Franks

Gear: Sony A7iii, Tamron 28-75 f2.8

Settings: ISO 1000, f2.8, 1/250

The Shot: I set up my tripod next to a window in my living room, so the light would hit as side light. It was morning so the sun was starting to beam in hard. I was actually trying to capture my hair flipping across my face which is why my SS was higher, I then used the reflection on my T.V to find a pose I liked and decided to try that instead. I had sent my remote shutter in the diaper bag with my daughter so I was using a 5 second timer and running back and forth to check the back of the camera. I used my child’s booster seat to set focus. (Manually set focus). It took a couple shots and some tweaking.

Post Processing: I converted it to bnw and cropped in. I brought into ps to clone some things off the wall behind me. In Lightroom I used brush tool and subject masks to smooth skin. brush tool to enhance my eye.




Gear: Canon EOS 5D mark iii

Settings: 1/250 sec at f/4.0, ISO 1000

The Shot: My reflection is in the front part of the viewfinder and my daughter is on the other side

Post Processing: I used the Pretty Preset Clean Rich Color




Gear: Nikon D750, Nikkor 35mm 1.8

Settings: F2.2, 1/250, ISO2500

The Shot: Self-timer, camera balanced on the air fryer with a journal and chapstick for leveling.

Post Processing: Straightened, cropped, temp adjusted, and exposure lowered on L side in LR, then contrast adjusted and stomach brightened in PS.



Gear: Nikon d750, 85mm lens

Settings: ISO 250, f4, 1/1000

The Shot: I decided to start a traveling dress series on my latest trip to Idaho. This was the view outside of our Airbnb I set up my camera on a tripod and used my sil to meter, then ran to my spot and played around with this beautiful dress!

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. Brought up exposure on overall picture, also brought up exposure specifically on subject. Tweaked the orange tone a little bit to make it more muted to go with the surrounding colors.


Gear: Canon 5D Mark III & my 35mm lens

Settings: f13, ISO 100, & 1/50.

The Shot: A week ago today I almost lost my husband to a motor vehicle accident secondary to an unknown congenital cardiac anomaly which caused his heart to go into a non-sustainable cardiac arrhythmia. Since that day, it has felt like we’re living in a dream. I wanted to depict this feeling in a photograph, so I took an image of us through the lens of another camera. Almost as if we’re looking at someone else’s life. I shot this at f13, I wanted a smaller f stop so that the Rolleiflex was in focus as much as possible. I put my digital camera on a tripod & shot the image through the lens of my medium format Rolleiflex camera.

Post Processing: I edited this in LR using a Mastin Labs preset. I increased the clarity & contrast of the part of the image that is shot through the Rollei. I also decreased the brightness of the grass around the Rollei with a brush, as well as decreasing the blacks. I added a slight vignette to really draw your eye to the image of us.



Gear: Pentax K3. PENTAX-DA 10-17mm fisheye zoom @ 10mm.

Settings: 1/60 second, f13 (looking for sun stars), ISO800.

The Shot: My other main “street” beat is Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. This is an arm’s length fisheye selfie, camera literally two feet from my face, shot “inside” one of the amazing weeping beech trees in Kensington Gardens – my favourites

Post Processing: Processed in PS with strongish hi-pass filter, hard light blend; moderate S-curve and a Fujifilm colour lookup.




Gear: Canon 5D MkIII, Canon 85mm f1.8

Settings: f3.2, ss 1/400, ISO 1250

The Shot: I feel very awkward alone in front of the camera so I decided to distract myself by going in the rain. I shot through a window so my camera could stay dry inside and I liked the texture from the drops of water on the window. I used the intervalometer to take shots every few seconds

Post Processing: Edited with the Exhale preset from the CM Elements



Gear: Nikon z6, 50 mm, tripod

Settings: f1.8, 1/250, ISO 800

The Shot: on a tripod shooting into my son's room in the morning.

Post Processing: Edited with SMAL 06 preset in lightroom



Gear: Canon 6DMii , Tamron 24-70, godox t8600ii, newer umbrella

Settings: ISO 200 F/ 2.8 SS 1/180

The Shot: I have my speedlite set up to camera left and camera on tripod with it connected to my phone on the app. I had just canned this jam so it was on the countertop. I scooped up baby and shifted my plants over to be in the frame more.

Post Processing: I did minor adjustments in lightroom then exported to photoshop. I edited with curves and color balance layers.



Gear: Nikon Z6, 35mm.

Settings: ISO 100, f/2.0, 1/500

The Shot: I learned how to connect my phone to my camera so nailing the focus was getting easier. I was going for a traditional posed portrait and because nature is my favourite thing I chose a field as my backdrop.

Post Processing:

I used a portrait preset and tweaked the texture and blacks



Gear: Canon 6D mark II

Settings: 28mm f/2.8 1/500 sec ISO 100

The Shot: Taken with the camera balanced on a stool after I saw a version of this on Pinterest and decided it would be fun to give it a try.

Post Processing: In LR I used filters to try and equalize the harsh light. It was the only bare wall in the house. Then I used PS to convert my red dress and shoes to BNW. I clones the poster to try and get rid of sun streaks.




147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page