top of page

Storytelling with Jackie Haxthausen, LeeKay Photography

I hope y'all are enjoying our month of storytelling. Obviously, documentary is a way to use this genre but Jackie is here to show us a more conceptual way. Honestly, I am so impressed and astounded by this genre of photography, yet so intimidated. I love the way she uses color and elements to create a magazine worthy image. I really hope everyone attempts to put something together like this and I am going to give it a try if I can!!


xoxox





Hi, my name is Jackie Haxthausen with LeeKay Photography and can be

found on instagram as @leekayphotos. I am a newborn and family lifestyle

photographer in Louisiana and a mother of 3. While my client work is lifestyle

and more traditional, my passion is creating styled storytelling images with

my family. For over a year now, I have incorporated myself into the frame to

tell our story even better. My gear consists of Nikon z6 and z7, Nikon and

Sigma prime lenses, Manfrotto tripod and Profoto lights.







Storytelling Components

My styled images are far from a documentary approach. I am inspired by our

everyday life, but control every aspect to bring an image and idea to life in

my own way.

Before I ever turn on my camera, I carefully consider the following things and

how it will help convey the story I want to tell.




-light

-composition

-color

-props

-post processing







Light

Like every type of photograph, light can make or break the success. But

when it comes to storytelling, the type of light used can not only let the

viewer know what time of day the photograph is taking place, but also evoke

a feeling when the viewer themselves as been in a similar type of light.







For example, the warm glow through the window and lit candles lets the

viewer know the dinner is taking place as the sun has gone down, but also

brings one back to a similar experience at the dinner table with their family.

Light direction and quality can tell so much.




Shot with Profoto B10 over head to create a poker table feel.



Composition

I really heavily on composition to tell my story. I often sketch out my idea

before so I can see how everyone will fall in the frame. I want to keep the

viewer’s eye moving around my frame, noticing details, but also make sure

their main attention is brought to the story. As much as a I plan, working with

children, things change and organically take place. And because it’s our story

I am ok with that.








I also use micro composing and layering in my photos often. Every element I

add to the frame is there on purpose to tell or support the story I am trying to

convey. The foreground flowers in the above photo not only anchor the

frame, but also make the viewer feel like they are looking in on the scene

happening.



Color







Color is one of my favorite things to play with in storytelling. Color can evoke

so much emotion and set a mood. Is the story playful, serene, happy? I start

planning with a specific color palette in mind.




This image is a perfect simple example of a color palette that we instantly

recognize as Americana, and the viewer knows its a 4th of July celebration.




This image I had a less control over the backdrop, but I chose our outfits

based on the colors in the bathroom. I wanted a monochromatic scheme so

even with a busy wallpaper, we aren’t lost, and our story is in the forefront.



Props

I use props in almost every image because the stories I want to tell need

support for authenticity. I think carefully about keeping my images timeless

and search for props that will support that. I strive to create a time period

feeling, but that is still ambiguous and fresh.





The vintage hair dryer inspired this image. But while the hair dryer is vintage,

everything else current. The dresses and furniture still mix with the midcentury

vibe of the dryers. I consider the outfit choices part of my props, and

sometimes the outfits can inspire an entire shoot, like below.







The props are probably one of the most important storytelling components in

this image. Because of the stand, the viewer knows exactly what is taking

place. Every other detail supports that, and the viewer lingers noticing the

details. I think of my image backgrounds as “sets” I am setting the stage for

our story to unfold. Every good movie or play uses a set to make the viewer

feel like they are actually there watching the story unfold.







Post Processing

I feel like my storytelling wouldn’t be complete with out my post processing.

Not only will I composite several images together to make a stronger story

and composition, but I edit the images in a way that lets the viewer’s eye

wonder if its a photograph or illustration. The storytelling of mid-century

illustrators in so inspiring to me, and it heavily influences how I edit my

images. I also will use post processing to adjust color in certain props, so

that my original palette hold strong.







This image has several layers of presents to create the overwhelm emotion

essential to the story.





I hope this insight to how my tell my stories inspires you to create something

you love. I am so happy to have these images. While not spontaneously

captured and specifically planned, I strive to keep the narrative true to our

lives so that they become heirloom images my children will treasure forever.

276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page