top of page

April, Highlight Reel 1



Reflections are such a beautiful compositional tool. It's always interesting to view your subject in a unique way, and y'all really brought some different points of view. I had fun going through the images over the past two weeks and I am excited to share some of my favorites below.



Thanks so much everyone! Your work is beautiful.


xoxo

Gossip Girl, I mean Wendi




1. Gear: Canon 6D Mark II, 24-70mm 2.8

2. Settings: ƒ/2.8, 1/320, ISO 400

3. The Shot: on a gray and rainy day* I was looking for some light and colors, and then I noticed my reflection on the glass door:)

4. Post Processing: Lightly edited in LR, basic adjustments and color






1. Gear: Nikon D800, 24-70 f/2.8

2. Settings: ISO 1250, f/2.8, 1/100

3. The Shot: I asked my daughter to stand in front of our entryway mirror and looked toward our glass door. I focus on her eye and took the shoot.

4. Post Processing: I fixed the WB and then converted to B&W. I bumped up the exposure and highlights quite a bit, but pulled down the shadows. I did more of this in the tone curve too. Also bumped the clarity up.






1. Gear: Canon Rebel T6, 24mm prime

2. Settings: ISO 400 1/500, 2.8

3. The Shot: She has a vanity in her room and it was a great place to practice her poses and look at her new nail polish. I sat on the bed behind and slightly off to the side of her. There's a window to the left and it was mid-afternoon.

4. Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom using black and white preset. Used a brush to bring up the exposure slightly in her reflection.






1. Gear: Sony aRiii + 35mm

2. Settings: ISO 3.2, F4.0, 1/1000

3. The Shot: We were walking in the woods, I found this spot to try silhouette, and there is NO puddle BUT I put my make up mirror under the lens to create reflection. This is so much fun!

4. Post Processing: Edited in LR, basic adjustment, and mainly changed the tone.






1. Gear: Canon EOS R6, Canon 28-70mm at 50mm

2. Settings: 1/200, f2.0, ISO 5000

3. The Shot: My daughter had just finished a shower in my bathroom and I came in to squeegie down the glass door. When I closed the door I saw the reflection of her looking out the window and I loved the look of it with the tones and lines of the tile in the shower almost like a double exposure. Luckily my camera was close so I grabbed it for a few shots.

4. Post Processing: Edited in LR to increased exposure and dropped highlights. Increased vibrance slightly. Cropped to 4x5 ratio which I tend to prefer on vertical images.






1. Gear: Canon EOS rebel SL2, 18-55 mm kit lens

2. Settings: F 6.7, iso400 ss350

3. The Shot: My son was playing near window. I tried to capture him with his reflection on window with leading lines.I shot it when he was looking at me for direct eye contact.

4. Post Processing: Edited in the Lightroom. I reduced highlights on window and increased a clarity. Increased the shadows a bit. Converted to bnw. Adjusted the contrast and exposure.






1. Gear: Canon 5DIV, 24-70 F/2.8, tripod, A2 size black foam board

2. Settings: 25 mm, F/5, 1/250, ISO 400

3. The Shot: I wanted to show isolation during lockdown. I stood inside near the balcony window but put the camera outside on the balcony. It was impossible to distinguish me from the reflection, so I clipped an A2 black foam board to the balcony railings. I used the camera’s interval timer to take several shots

4. Post Processing: Straightened, cropped, increased contrast and used HSL panel to alter colours slightly






1. Gear: Shot on iPhone 11 Pro Max

2. Settings: 1/40 sec f2.0 iso 200

3. The Shot: On a evening walk after some rain showers passed through. Happened to see a puddle at end of a driveway with a reflection of the clearing skies.

4. Post processing: Quick edit in Lightroom to raise shadows






1. Gear: Nikon D500 28mm

2. Settings: ISO 640, F4.0, 1/320sec

3. The Shot: I wanted the feel as if we were driving enjoying the weather. We were parked in a parking lot and I asked my son to do as he is.

4. Post Processing: In LR I depended the shadow and black and brightened him up in the mirror. Then in PS I warmed up the image ALOT and changed the sky to be warmer (we shot this during Blue Hour) I added a sun flare.






1. Gear: Camera - Canon R6 with Sigma 35mm 1.4

2. Settings: ISO 1600 F. 2.2, ss 1/500

3. The shot: Given she is spending more and more time in front of the mirror I have plenty of opportunity! I just caught her checking out her new leggings and asked her to hold still while I tried to catch her reflection through her arm. I also want to hide the reflection of the clutter in the room!

4. Post Processing: I brought down the temp a bit to cool the image, I added contrast, and brought down highlights, whites and shadows. I used a brush to bring up exposure on her face and brought the saturation up slightly.





1. Gear: Camera Nikon D750 with my 35mm 1.8 lens.

2. Settings: f4.0, ss 1/200, ISO 640.

3. The Shot: I shot this in my daughters bedroom. Window is camera left, sun was not directly on that side of the house yet so was soft. I cleared my daughter's drawers of everything bar her mirror, then asked both the girls to lay on the bed behind and read their books. I then had to make sure my angle included them but not me!

4. Post Processing: I lifted exposure, added extra blacks (0.20) and extra vibrance (0.25), then cropped and adjusted the angle (as some were a little wonky). 5. Instagram account is https://www.instagram.com/our_world_in_pictures/






1. Gear: Nikon d750, 35mm lense.

2. Settings: ISO 1000, f2.5, 1/100

3. The Shot: Ever since the release of this month's topic I've been on the lookout for reflections- especially opportunities for self portraits. I decided to try and capture a self portrait in the mirror on our wall. It was a little tricky finding the angle and figuring out where my body needed to be, but it was fun figuring out how to make this happen in our small house!

4. Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. I turned it to bnw because our walls were giving off an orange vibe I wasn't liking. I bumped up my contrast and brought down my blacks to create more contrast in my hair. I also edited out am ugly vent on our wall, lol!



Thanks to everyone who shared and participated. Make sure you share to the photo dump on Facebook to be featured and MAKE SURE TO LEAVE THE INFORMATION REQUESTED.















238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page