top of page

April Highlight Reel 2

I don't know that we could have picked a better theme for April than documentary. It has been a tremendous gift to see how you all are documenting everything that has been going on in our world this month. So many different views! From how you're handling the safer at home orders, social distancing, or how you've just done your best to live life as close to normal as you can. It has been an absolute pleasure getting to see a little slice of each and every one of your lives. Congratulations to all you wonderful artists!




Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, Sigma Art 35.

Settings: ISO 800, f/2.2, 1/2000. The

Shot: I was up early with my littles and wanted to frame them with the dappled light coming in from the back door. I used a high shutter speed to avoid blowing out the highlights too much then brought up the shadows in Lightroom.

Post Processing: Edited with BabyRose presets



Gear: Canon 6D Mark II with Canon 35mm f/1.4

Settings: f/2.0 - 1/320 - ISO 2000

The Shot: My son was sitting at the table (which faces a large window) drawing. I shot this scene from every angle I could. The soft filtered light was fantastic and I was so happy that he stayed focused on his art while I was shooting (he normally gets silly when I shoot).

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. Applied preset '2 cool 4 u'. Adjusted exposure, reduced highlights, decreased whites and blacks. Increase clarity. Tweaked temperature.



Gear: Canon EOS Rebel T5

Settings: 1/200 sec at f/4.0, ISO 1000

The Shot: Nothing fancy. Just waiting in line for the Daddy Hair Cut Salon. We even had the Dum Dum lollipops to seal the deal!

Post Processing: Edited with LR: adjusted the highlights and used a radial filter to burn around. I used a radial filter to highlight the kiddos sitting on the counter.



Gear: Nikon d5100, kit lens @ 18mm,

Settings: ISO 1600, 3.5, 1/250

The Shot: My 4 year old loves to sit in this chair close up to the TV while he plays Mario Kart so I squeezed in between the chair and the TV stand and waited for the framing to work (he moves around a lot) I feel like the fact that I didn't turn off that obnoxious light above his head is sign it's truly documentary haha.

Post Processing: Editing I didn't do a ton, a little vignetting, tweaked some tones and contrast.



Gear: Canon EOS 77D, 40 mm 2.8

Settings: ISO 100, F/2.8, 1/125

The Shot: Stood on a chair on the other side of our island to capture my baby's first meal at the table rather than in Bumbo seat with tray on top of the table. In the morning our kitchen is flooded with natural light.

Post Processing: Lightroom: Velvet Owl Photography MOD Indoors preset, whit clipping -26, contrast +10, temp -200, orange luminance +17, exposure +0.5



Gear: Nikon D750 24mm lens

Settings: ISO 1600 24mm f/4.0 1/80 sec

The Shot: I shot this from above, my dogs always watch my husband eat!

Post Processing: I brightened the exposure and played around with the tone curve to add contrast



Gear: Nikon D750, Nikon 24-70mm at 34mm Settings:1/1250 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, aperture priority, pattern metering The Shot: I wanted to document our inspections in our beehives. I knew what I wanted when I went out there. I wanted to make sure to include the hive boxes, the frames, the bees, and the way my husband intently looks for the queen, eggs, and larva. Post Processing: Edited in ACR using the preset Krautkopf 14



Gear: Fuji X100T Settings: 1/125s, f2.5, ISO 320 The Shot: Granddaughter came to our house to drop off a puzzle for her 94YO grandma. At the very end, they wanted to hug, but couldn't. They both started to cry. Post Processing: LR edit. Custom split tone.



Gear: Canon 5D Mark III 3 on my 35mm lens

Settings: f8, ISO 250, & 1/500. I used a smaller f stop because I wanted the clouds as in focus as my husband & kids. The sky was so beautiful against the green grass of the hill they were on, so I wanted it all! 😂 The Shot: My kids got these kites for Christmas last year, & today was the first opportunity we had to go fly them. My husband took the kiddos up the hill to help them fly their kites, & I sat in the middle of the hill, waiting for an opportune moment to take an image or two. Post Processing: I edited this with Goodlight Presets. The only thing I did was increase the shadows a tad (other than applying the preset).



Gear: Canon 6D, 35mm Sigma art lens.

Settings: ISO 100, SS 250, f2.8.

The Shot: I put the camera down on the ground and clicked.

Post Processing: edited with Michelle McKay’s preset, can’t remember which one, portraiture in PS



Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, 15 mm 2.8 fisheye Settings: ISO 1,000, f/2.8, 1/1250

The Shot: Probably way too much going on in this photo to make it a documentary. On top of our other 100 house projects we decided to start converting the dog kennel we have into a chicken coop with an outside enclosure as well. We don't have chickens quite yet, but are in the midst of making them space to come home too. My goal was to just capture real life moments of this process. My youngest photo bomb with a wave is my favorite oh and that tiny burst of light too! Post Processing: I didn't do a lot to this photo. Anything with a sunflare for me requires minimal editing. I just played with levels of color and contrast. I love bold and rich coloring and sharpened a smidgen.



Gear: Nikon D500 and 18-300mm at 110mm Settings: f7.1, 1/640, ISO 140 The Shot: These lovely ladies stand by the road offering healthy and tasty lunches absolutely free of charge to anyone who wants one. We stopped and my husband made a donation and I snapped a quick picture. Post Processing: Lr increased sharpness, contrast and clarity



Gear: Nikon D750, 35 mm 1.4 Settings: ISO - 500 f/2.5 1/320 The Shot: I walked past the bathroom to find our almost three year old in this state and I literally booked it for my camera. This was my first shot after adjusting my settings. There is a skylight in the bathroom which really helps with light in this shot. Post Processing: Edited in LR. Dirty Boots Messy Hair Presets. Minor adjustments to increase blacks and exposure a touch.





328 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page