top of page

August: Highlight Reel, 1

Well, hello there, intentional blur! Can I just say I am here for you! Freelensing has long been a favorite of mine, but as I personally am diving into this month, I am loving finding new and interesting way to incorporate intention blur into my photos. I am so incredibly inspired by this theme but even more so by this incredible community. You guys are awesome! I love seeing the learning and I especially love it when you guys try new things and put yourselves out there. I know it isn't always easy to share your work but I love seeing the effort and the growth and most of all sharing in the excitement when you nail it!


This year I have felt like I am constantly behind the 8 ball. I am behind on editing, I am behind on laundry, I am even a bit behind getting this post up. I haven't been sharing my work on our Facebook page because I am having a hard time catching myself up, but here is promise to you (because you have been a wonderful community and you have done such a great job sharing you work and I feel I owe it to you!) I will share what I have been working on with you, because I love going through and tackling the themes right along side of you! Thank you for inspiring me in my journey and making me a better photographer in the process!


Finally, my most favorite-ist part of being on this admin team, is the privilege of sharing your work. You guys are awesome and here are a few of the many photos that I feel in love with these past two weeks. Keep sharing my friends and I will too! 😘


xoxo


Gear: Canon 6dmkii with Sigma Art 35mm 1.4 Settings: f2.8, 1/1000, ISO 400 The Shot: I was shooting my kids on the swing (hence the fast shutter) and I was getting lots of sunflare so I switched to manual focus to blur my subjects so I could capture the pretty light while also still conveying a sense of movement. Post Processing: Applied a Hello Film preset in LR then added warmth in PS using a couple of light overlays.

Gear: Nikon D750; Nikon 50mm

Settings: Freelensed ISO 100 1/3200

The Shot: It was a nice sunny day at the lake, and I saw this dead tree and thought it looked so out of place. I envisioned this image in black and white and wanted it to look haunting with the dead tree being the focal point (as best as I could get it in "focus" as I'm not the best at freelensing).

Post Processing: I edited this in PS by lowering the exposure and really increasing the contrast, clarity and texture.

Gear: Nikon D7500, Tamron 18-270 mm Settings: ISO 100, f/9, 1/25 sek The Shot: I was quite far away, and tried the panning over and over again untill I got this one I liked. I really liked to have the tree in the background.d Post Processing: Cropped and did some tweaks in Lightroom.

Gear: Canon EOS 100D, freelensed with 50mm lens Settings: 1/2000 ISO 100 The Shot: We were staying in a cottage that backed onto a canal and the sky looked gorgeous as the sun went down behind it. So I tried some freelensing, focussing on the foreground flowers. Post Processing: I increased clarity on the flowers and enhanced the vibrancy of the orange glow.

Gear: Sony a r iii with lensbaby sol 45

Settings: ISO 1600 f3.5 1/2000

The Shot: She plays bubbles before dinner time in our back yard. I use my sol 45 trying to get more focus on her.

Post Processing: Changed to bnw and did basic adjustments.

Gear: Canon 80D

Settings: 1/4000 sec, ISO 640, free lensed with 50 mm lens

The Shot: My daughter was watering flowers and I got my camera ready (settings) and then detached my lens and took several images until I got one I liked.

Post Processing: Edited in Lr, SMAL 1 preset, adjusted vibrancy, exposure, shadows, hues, removed grain

Gear: canon 6d mkii

Settings: 1/500 sec, ISO 100, freelensed

The Shot: we were exploring and like to add depth to my 24mm by freelensing.

Post Processing: Edited in ACR. Meridian and Doe preset, adjusted saturation, hues, white balance and curves.

Gear: Nikon D750, 35mm 1.8 Settings: ISO 100, f3.2, 1/125 The Shot: I took this late one evening when I got home from work - I noticed a patch of our front lawn was glowing with the last rays of light, and ran for my camera. I set my camera on the ground, and adjusted aperture to get a nice slice of grass in focus Post Processing: Edited in LR using SMAL01. Added a little bit of warmth, and small radial filter in the top corner.

Gear: Panasonic Lumix GX9 with Lensbaby Sol 22.

Settings: F3.5 1/80 ISO400.

The Shot: My Mother in Law gave me some cut flowers from her garden. I dream of having a cut flower garden for myself, but I am not green fingered at all!

Post Processing: Edited in LR with an Archipelago LXC3 preset. I also deepened the blacks and shadows. I lifted the saturation, exposure and clarity a little on the flowers in focus to make them pop.

Gear: I used my Canon 5D mark III using my 24-105 lens.

Settings: I wanted my shutter speed to be 1/10, & I wanted the lines to be more crispy, so I wanted a smaller aperture, so chose f13. Then I manipulated my ISO to get the proper exposure & ended up shooting at ISO 200. The Shot: To get this shot, I had my son riding his bike up & down our driveway. I focused on his face, & when I pushed the shutter button, I simultaneously zoomed out. Post Processing: I used a Goodlight preset to edit this, & increased the exposure a tad, & bumped up the contrast a bit. That was it.

Gear: Nikon D850 with 50.0 mm f/1.4 Settings: F 0 (freelensing) ISO 400 exp 1/100 The Shot: As long as freelensing was successful I wanted to try using reverse lens as many of you where talking that this way could be achieved macro effect. I tried and, damn, yes it is amazing how wonderful it was. So I grabed my kiddos and made some close-up pictures of their eyes. This is my daughter’s eye and some kind of self-portrait as well . Post Processing: I edited it in Lightroom: downed highlights and blacks and made some color corrections to achieve as more true colors as I managed.

Gear: Sony ar7iv Sony with Sony FE 24-70mm f/2.8 I beleive I used the 6 stop ND filter Settings: exp 6 sec, f22, ISO 50 The Shot: We had a breezy day while camping and I set up the tripod low enough to get the movement of the grass and set a slow shutter to get sufficient movement in the grass and the clouds. Post Processing: This was edited in Lightroom: I decreased highlights a lot, increased shadows a lot, upped contrast, upped contrast and clarity to about 15, and upped blue saturation under calibration

Gear: Canon 5D mkIII 35mm

Settings: f2.5 1/8000

The Shot: went out looking for wildflowers one day and ran into these wild sunflowers on the side of a huge construction area. It was a little hidden gem and my girls walked through to look at them. It was sunset and the sun was just peeking through the treeline creating this heavenly glow.

Post Processing: Shadows and highlights adjusted, greens toned down. Sharpened and cropped in Photoshop.

Gear: Nikon 750 35mm lens Settings: ISO 100 f2 1/2000 The Shot: We decided to visit the lavender fields and while the kids the laying down relaxing on a hot and sunny day I decided to capture the moment but focusing on the nearby lavender plants rather than the children themselves. Post Processing: I used one of my favourite presets on Lightroom with tweaks to the contrast and lighting.

Gear: Nikon D750 and 85mm lens

Settings: f/3.2 1/1600 and ISO 100

The Shot: Put my lens on manual focus and moved around until I liked where the focus landed and the composition.

Post Processing: Used a twig and olive preset as a base and then took it into photoshop to add a light overlay

Gear: Nikon D810, tamron 50mm Settings: ISO 125, 1/1250 The Shot: I shot this in the afternoon as my daughter was playing in our front yard around the rose bushes. I crouched down behind the roses and used them as a foreground as I tried freelensing. Post Processing: Edited in LR, adjusted WB, tweaked highlights, shadows and contrast. Also played with HSL panel adjustments.

Gear: Canon 5D mk iv, lensbaby edge 50

Settings: ISO 320, 1/1250, possibly f/11

The Shot: I was going on a hike along the Potomac River in Washington D.C and this row of ducks caught my eye, manually focused

Post Processing: Edited in LR, converted to BW, increased contrast, dehaze, clarity, adjusted tone curve, radial filter.

Gear: Nikon z7, lensbaby sol 45 Settings: 1/500, iso 800 The Shot: He was walking along the top so he could see the kangaroos in the distance. I hung down the bottom waiting to see what he would do. He sat down and looked over the edge and I snapped away. Post Processing: Hand edited in ACR and PS.

Gear: canon 5d mark iv composer pro lensbaby sweet 35 optic

Settings: f 5.6, iso 800, 1/800;

The Shot: I had this lens on for family dinner, we have spending a quiet summer in seattle cramming four kids into my parents house with them as my dad's dementia is worsening, particularly with COVID. I wanted the dreamy effect of this blur and looked over and saw him just listening to the kids talk about their day after dinner on the deck.

Post Processing: This is a simple edit with db BW 1,my go to for personal work, and I upped exposure to get his skin details where I wanted them

Gear: Nikon Z6, Sigma Art 35mm Settings: ISO 100, f 1.8, 1/4000s The Shot: I have a bazillion sunflower images, so I decided to get a little creative with this edit. We stopped at this sunflower field we go to each year on our way home from a camping trip last weekend. This year, the flowers were super tall and quite thick with weeds so they pretty much towered over sweet Charlotte.

Post Processing: I wanted to give her even more of a “little person in a great big world” feel, so I had some fun bringing that theme to light in Photoshop. I stretched the flowers and canvas and then I wanted a Lensbaby Twist feel... but I had sadly left that lens at home. So I put my own spin on it (literally) by adding a slight radial blur in PS!

I love freelensing but a free lensed self portrait was a new challenge. Glad I took a shot at it. Gear: Sony a7iii, Sigma MC-11 adapter, Sigma 35mm Art lens Settings: ISO 800 f/00 (freelensed) ss: 1/400 The Shot: I knew I wanted some moody light so I propped myself next to a window in my bedroom and sat in front of my bed. I balanced the camera and my "free" lens on a book (on a stool) until I could see focus in the blanket against my bed. Then I planted my body where the focus seemed to be and practiced breathing in and out deeply to create a moody emotion on my face. Post Processing: I love my Illuminated View Black and White preset from @therealdanaleigh

Gear: Nikon D750, Sigma art 35mm Settings: ISO640, f/00 (freelensed), 1/320 The Shot: Took advantage of my sons nap time, turned his bed so it was on an angle to the window, stood over him and freenlensed the shot. Post Processing: Edited with Smal 01 preset and quite a few tweaks.

Gear: Sony A6000 Settings: ISO 100, 1/400, F1.7 free lensed The Shot: I was nervous to do it but I got my manual 35mm lens out and figured I’d give it a go. I just focused on the guitar strings, moving the lens around playing with how free lensing works. Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. I just converted to Black and White and added some extra contrast and texture.

Gear: Nikon d3400, manual 50mm 1.8 nikor Settings: Iso 800, f 4.5, 1/500 The Shot: This is a reverse macro freelense with an antique, manual lens taken in my garden. Post Processing: Edited in snapseed. Upped highlights, saturation and warmth, lowered shadows and applied a teeny bit of clarity.

Gear: Canon EosR, Sigma 35mm lens Settings: f/2.8, 1/640, ISO 100 The Shot: Shot in a sunflower field while the sun was getting low, i knew i wanted the tall grasses to be mostly blurred and i wanted to be down on her level Post Processing: Edited using a preset called California Dreaming 5

210 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page