top of page

August, Highlight Reel 2

As summer comes to an end, so does our theme of storytelling. This is probably one of my most favorite themes. It truly is a gift to be able to have a peek into the story of your lives. And the unique and creative ways you all chose to tell your stories is always such an inspiration!


Congratulations to all of our featured artists!

XO



Gear: Canon 5DIV, Sigma 35 mm f/1.4

Settings: ISO 200, f/ 5.0, 1/2000 sec.

The Shot: I wanted to capture the British seaside and have it seem fun so I used colour theory and framing with the beach huts.

Post Processing: I increased vibrancy and contrast. I straightened it and added a bit of texture to the pebbles with a brush in Light Room. In Photoshop I did a sky replacement for one that was less flat and grey.



Gear: Nikon D610, AF-S Nikkor 24-85mm

Settings: ISO 100, 65mm, f 6.3 1/200 sec

The Shot: We were getting ready for school with a new haircut & wanted to document the moment, it was taken in the bathroom with minimal light, so I used bareflash bouncing off ceiling to expose correctly.

Post Processing: In lightroom, converted it to bnw, did basic adjustments, added a tad texture, clarity, dehaze, adjusted highlights and contrast.



Gear: Canon 5dmkiii and Sigma Art lens 105mm 1.4

Settings: 1/500 f1.8 ISO 100

The Shot: Shot in a shady patch due to harsh midday sunshine, but lots of light to give it a glow against the dark woodland backdrop. We played the game how many times can we get on the bench by herself until she got bored.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom for basic editing and base SMAL preset, then into Photoshop for refining colours using colour balance and curves.



Gear: Nikon Z6, 50mm

Settings: ISO 100, f3.5, 1/800

The Shot: I wanted a candid shot of break time from haying and the sunset in the background was perfect. Almost done for the day.

Post Processing: I added a bit of clarity, dehaze and some vibrance. Warmed it some and added some contrast.



Gear: Nikon D750, 35mm Nikon lens.

Settings: ISO 200, f3.2, 1/400.

The Shot: This was shot on a stormy morning, window light was the only light used, I underexposed to save the sky and the highlights on her skin.

Post Processing: I warmed the temperature up a little, added blacks, vibrance and a tiny amount of saturation, upped the exposure overall, then added radial filters in a diagonal each side to darken the top left and bottom right corners, then also added a radial filter to the window area to bring back the stormy clouds



Gear: Canon 6d, Lensbaby Sol 45.

Settings: ISO-100, F-stop: F/O, Exposure time: 1/320.

The Shot: The kids were swimming all day and decided to jump on the trampoline for a while. Their dad filled the water gun up and started spraying them, they thought it was the BEST thing ever! I ran and grabbed my camera and documented them enjoying life. That's what it's all about! I shot this about an hour before sunset.

Post Processing: I opened in Camera Raw(ACR)and did most of my adjustments there, dehazing and adding warmth/contrast. I finished in PS with a GTG action(tweaked).



Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, Canon 85mm 1.8

Settings: ISO 800, f/7.1, 1/2500 sec

The Shot: After paddle boarding with my son on a very hazy evening, I allowed him to play around by himself in the shallow water. I noticed my daughter watching him so I stood back and focused on him past her so that she would be slightly blurred in the foreground.

Post Processing: I edited this in Lightroom to increase exposure, lift shadows, and add a haze overlay to enhance the sunset, and finished in Photoshop to add contrast with a colour overlay and tweak colours.



Gear: Samsung Galaxy A5 phone

Settings: f/1.9, ISO 50, 1/50

The Shot: No special set up aside for focusing on the highlights.

Post Processing: Edited in snapseed. Upped saturation and warmth. Deepened shadows.


191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page