top of page

Composition by Nicole Kost

Composition by Nicole Kost


Composition can completely transform an image into a work of art and it can help tell a story of the moment you are capturing. It can also be a really fun way to express yourself creatively. Whichever composition you choose for your image, be sure that it’s the strongest for what you’re envisioning.



I like to take in my environment and visualize what my composition will be. I will look for leading lines, elements in my background and/or patterns to help guide my final composition. From there, I make sure to follow some basic rules:


• Do not allow your horizon line to intersect your subject’s head. • Try to avoid placing your horizon line dead center. It’s best to allow your horizon line to be either at the top or bottom line in your 9 segment grid (or close to it). Sometimes, however, this cannot be avoided.


These are a few of my favorite compositions I typically use:


1. Rule of thirds - To achieve this composition, use the grid (9 line segments) and intersection points of those lines. This helps to balance your image. I always try to place my subject on the point of intersecting lines.




2. Foreground interest and depth - Adding a sense of depth to your image by having something interesting in the foreground can really transform the impact it has on the viewer.




3. Framing - Framing is a great way to add depth to your image. Look for elements such as windows, tall grasses with an opening, or trees. These are all examples of elements you can use to frame your subject.




4. Leading lines - This is definitely my favorite composition. This composition leads your viewer’s eye to your subject. I love to look for natural and man-made leading lines. These can be things such as lines of a trail, dock, fence or driveway to name a few. I will either place my subject center or use rule of thirds. Also, remember, leading lines don’t always have to be straight. Curved, diagonal or zigzag can add interest as well.




5. Center composition and symmetry - Center composition should only be used if it has a purpose, such as using leading lines or with symmetry for example. Leading lines of a dock or bridge can provide great symmetry. I will almost always place my subject center for a Wes Anderson style image when shooting on a dock or bridge.



255 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page