top of page

Full Sun: July: Highlight Reel, 2

Going through the images you all posted this month gave me all of the summery feels. I love full sun and you guys really rocked it out this month! So many happy moments happen in full sun and I love seeing them all captured! Here are a few that stood out to me!


xoxo,

Gear: Pixel 5 phone

Settings: Portrait mode

The Shot: We had a heatwave this week in the UK, we are not used to it at all and after a few days it was getting quite oppressive. My youngest is here hot and sweaty after school at the ice cream van.

Post Processing: Edited in LR using Elena Blair outdoor preset and bringing up the shadows. Added a little clarity and texture.

Gear: Canon 5D mkIV 85mm

Settings: f3.5 ISO100 1/2500

The Shot: My youngest finally lost her front tooth so we went to take a fun picture to document it. I had her shake her head back and forth to get some good hair movement and that always gets good smiles.

Post Processing: Highlights and shadows and color adjusted in Photoshop. Sharpened and cropped.

Gear: Canon r6 & 85mm

Settings: Iso 100 f3.5 1/1000

The Shot: Shot in midday sun. I was laying on the ground shooting upwards.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom with a preset, reduced highlights and took into photoshop to remove a couple of distractions in the background.

Gear: GoPro Hero 8 Black with dome

Settings: 3mm Iso 100, f/2.8, 1/1400

The Shot: I saw this moment coming and put my GoPro halfway under the water so I could see her full body getting out of the pool. I love using the GoPro in full sun!

Post Processing: Edited in LR pulling down highlights and blacks, increasing contrast and dehaze. I added the little sunbeams in PS.

Gear: Nikon d3500, nikkor 1.8 35mm

Settings: Iso 100, f/5.6, 1/4000

The Shot: I was hoping for a longer exposure but it was just too bright. I set the exposure compensation right down to -5.0, set the camera to manual and manually focused until I liked the look of the bokeh in live view. I also set the white balance in camera to quite warm.

Post Processing: Edited in snapseed. I applied a preset called pop, brightened and clarified a bit.

Kelly Dunn

Gear: Canon 6d 35 Sigma Art

Settings: ISO 100, Fstop 4.5, 1/640

The Shot: I took my 2 youngest babies to pick strawberries around 10am to our local farm. We do this every year and I will continue to do so until they get too grown or bored! Shooting in full sun is always a challenge but I have grown to really love it!

Post Processing: I did most of my adjustments in ACR and finished in PS. I always add contrast and warmth to my images and finish with GTG actions.

Gear: Nikon D3200, Tamron 24-70mm 2.8

Settings: ISO 200, f/3.5, 1/500, 35mm FL

The Shot: This was taken in the evening sun down a quiet lane with trees either side. I asked my daughter to stand by a pocket of sunlight that had found its way through the trees.

Post Processing: Edited in LR with a SMAL preset, tweaked slightly, and grain removed. Also added a gradient filter from the left. And warmed up the image a little with one of the SMAL tone presets.

Gear: DJI mini 2 drone

Settings: ISO 100, f2.8, 1/2500

The Shot: Took this image with my drone on our quick family beach trip off the west coast of Florida near Sarasota/Venice beach. I wanted to create a split between the water and sand, and have an image with all four of us in the frame!

Post Processing: Edited in LR using an Soulmate Umblemished preset. Cropped it in a little, and cloned out a few distractions in the beach.

Gear: iPhone 10

The Shot: We've been spending a lot of long days at the beach - so all the fun sun photos. This is one of my favorites though - my favorite people headed to our favorite place. Dropped by stuff to take this photo from behind.

Post Processing: Tweaked the colors a little in Lightroom

Gear: Canon Rebel T6 24 mm

Settings: ISO 100, 1/400, 4.5

The Shot: Taken in the late afternoon. I noticed their shadows and thought it would be a good detail/shadow shot. I kept their legs in the frame for reference.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. Used black and white preset and adjusted the exposure, highlights and whites. Cropped slightly from the top. Brushed on exposure on their legs.

Gear: GoPro Hero 7 Black @3mm

Settings: ISO 100, f/2.8, 1/1500

The Shot: Leaving the beach for a bit, I shot this of my daughter walking up path.

Post Processing: I messed up my settings with GoPro and meant to shoot in raw. This is a jpeg shot, but ended up liking it just the way is came out. No editing.

Gear: Canon 6D Mark ii, Lensbaby Sol45

Settings: ISO 100, f/3.5 (fixed), 1/1000

The Shot: I shot this as an in-camera multiple exposure. First I shot an out of focus image of the waves on the lake, then I layered it with a shot of my daughter playing on the beach.

Post Processing: I edited this in Photoshop to bring out the blues of the sky and water. I added contrast, sharpening, and warmth, and increased vibrance of the colours.

Gear: Nikon D3400 Nikkor 50mm 1.4

Settings: ISO 100 F2.2 1/640sec

The Shot: We were putting the whole family to work cleaning some outdoor furniture before we resealed it; I figured I'd take advantage of the full sun and the hose spray

Post Processing: Applied a matte black and white Lightroom preset and that's pretty much it.

Gear: Sony a6600, Sony 135mm

Settings: ISO 100, 1/4000, f 1.8

The Shot: Out playing in the backyard, and I don't often pull out my camera midday, but thought I'd get some full sun shots for the month.

Post Processing: Just made some simple adjustments in LR and then pulled into PS to extend the top of the canvas a smidge.

Gear: GoPro 8

Settings: Raw images

The Shot: I took this on our family vacation in Florida. I used my husband's GoPro while he was playing frisbee in the ocean. I loved catching all the waves in the negative space.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom. I used graduated filters to enhance the color of the sky and ocean.

194 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page