top of page

January: Highlight Reel, 1

Welcome to the first Highlight Reel of the new year! 2020 may have felt like five years rolled into one, but these first couple weeks of 2021 have flown by! So many new faces in the group this year, as well as some familiar favorites!


As is tradition we kicked this year off with the theme of low light. And as is tradition, you lovely people have dived right in. It has been an absolute joy getting to see all your beautiful work shared to the group page! Low light can be tricky. But it is also be sooo beautiful. I'm honored to get to share these wonderful images with you!


Enjoy XOXO



Gear: Canon 6d, 50mm, f1.4,

Settings: 1/500, ISO 1250

The Shot: I opened one blind and faced him to the window letting in the light! He had too much fun jumping up and down on the bed!

Post Processing: Edited in ACR, upped exposure, upped contrast and added a radial filter to his face to bring light up a bit more!



Gear: Nikon D3400, 17-50mm lens

Settings: ISO 100, 17mm, f2.8, 1/2000s

The Shot: From the bottom of the stairs, in the morning as the sun was rising behind the trees.

Post Processing: I bought the shadows down, increased the contrast and added an S curve. I also used a brush to lighten my subjects.



Gear: Nikon d750, sigma art 35 mm lens

Settings: f/2.8, 1/80 ISO 1000.

The Shot: Used only the makeup mirror light to illuminate my daughter.

Post Processing: Edited in LR. Turned down the blacks and the whites. Warmed up the white balance.



Gear: Canon 5Dmiii

Settings: ISO 200, f2.0 and 1/320

The Shot: Sitting on the floor window to camera left

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom(hue, saturation, contrast, radial filter, blacks/whites, sharpness/clarity warmed up. Dust and light leak in photoshop



Gear: Canon eos r 35mm 1.8

Settings: ISO 200 f1.8 1/100

The Shot: I came in and found my sister doing her make up turned off the lights in her room and was surprised to find how much light her mirror gave.

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom



Gear: IPhone 7+

Settings: 1/15 sec. f 1.8 ISO 64

The Shot: I stood across from the Ferris wheel platform and tried to find an angle where I could fit the whole thing in. The lights on it are constantly changing colors and chasing, just happened to catch it at just the right time.

Post Processing: Basic adjustments in Lightroom mobile - contrast up. Highlights down a little



Gear: Canon 6D Mark II Canon 50 mm 1.4

Settings: 1/3200, F 2.0, ISO 200

The Shot: My great dane Norah is 10 years old, but still makes the trek upstairs every morning to lay in her favorite spot as the sun pours in. I wanted to capture the difference in lighting over time, this was my favorite of the group of images. I'm trying to learn lighting/settings

Post Processing: I sharpened the image in lightroom and used a radial filter to add a darker contrast, removed a cord in the back in photoshop and warmed it up just a tad.



Gear: Canon 6D Macro 100mm

Settings: ISO 8000 f/5.6 1/320

The Shot: I only noticed that the rose resembles a heart after moving it around. I didn't like the way it was positioned so moved it and realized after I took the photo that it looks like a heart.

Post Processing: Edited in LR...used a Preset I've made for my florals and then did a few tweaks. decreased exposure, increased clarity and texture. Decreased highlights. used the split removal tool to remove the stem of the rose, to make it look like a true heart



Gear: Canon 77D with 50mm 1.8

Settings: ISO 200 f1.8 1/160

The Shot: Handheld shot with natural window light coming in camera right. I was sitting on the couch having my morning coffee, My daughter was on her way down the stairs after trying on her new sweater she sat directly in the light beams.

Post Processing: The shot in-camera was a bit blue from the ambient colors in the room so I warmed it up just ever so slightly.



Gear: Nikon z7 - 85mm 1.8 z Mount

Settings: 1.8 1/500 ISO 1200

The Shot: Nate and River were walking along the pier, I stepped back to get as much of the surrounding sky and environment in as possible.

Post Processing: ACR edit - Added contrast, clarity, warmth, brought highlights down and dehaze. Used the gradient tool to add warmth. Added more warmth and brightened Nate’s skin in PS.



Gear: Canon 5D Mark IV & 35mm sigma

Settings: ISO 2500, f/4.5, 1/13 (because I had previously been playing with slow shutter speed )

The Shot: We had a dance party in the kitchen on New Year’s Eve for the kids. The lights were off and the only source of light was the glo sticks. I’d been playing with long shutter speed as I said earlier, but when my little girl stopped dancing and put the ball next to her face, I grabbed a snap!

Post Processing: Edited in Lightroom where I slightly increased contrast, vibrance, saturation and luminance. I also added a brush just at the bottom of the image and darkened the shadows there.



Gear: Self Portrait with Canon 5D Mark |||

Settings: Lensbaby Sol45 ISO 1600 1/160

The Shot: I used a tripod and remote to take this self portrait using natural light coming from a window to the right of the frame. I first focused on my husbands face and then joined him (making sure my face was placed closely as possible to where I selected focus).

Post Processing: I changed the colour tones in photoshop, darkened the bottom of the frame slightly and added some contrast for a slight boost.





582 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page