top of page

Perspectives by Liz Bradley

Using perspective to enhance your work and tell a story

by Liz Bradley (@lizandersonbradley)


One of the things that I have worked on in my photography over the past year is the use of perspectives to tell a story and view a scene in a new way. Doing a 365 has been hugely helpful for me in learning to view a scene in a new way, to avoid burnout and also to capture some of the same spots in new and exciting ways.


I am a bit of a technical shooter, in that I don’t just spontaneously see the scene differently as I’m trying to shoot. It’s more calculated for me, and typically I will have an idea of how I want to shoot based on how I want to view the scene or if there is an element I want to incorporate. Here are a few tips that I find helpful in capturing new perspectives in my work:



Keep moving

Sometimes when I’m shooting things are just not working for me and I am not feeling it. I’ve found that the best thing I can do is keep moving around, and usually I will get at least a few shots that I love. I can usually tell if I’m having an “on” day shooting based upon how much I’ve moved around. And sometimes I can pull myself out of a funk by just moving and changing positions. I will frequently be on the ground on my stomach, on my back, shooting from above, squatting awkwardly, climbing on something….getting dirty is definitely a part of it for me!



Vision is important, but be flexible

One of my favorite shots of my daughter from the past year came from my lying on my back on the ground and shooting up at her while she climbed a net at the park. Before we left for the park I purposely dressed her in yellow since there was full sun and the sky was a bright blue. I knew I wanted to capture her climbing on that net with the sky. But I had envisioned it a little differently and had to change the way I shot when I got there and noticed a bunch of distractions in the background so I ended up laying on my back on the ground and shooting up. In addition to getting a shot that I loved, it was unique and different compared to the other shots I’ve gotten at this same park.



Turn limitations into opportunities

At the beginning of my 365 I had so many ideas and new places to explore and shoot, but over time there has been burnout, illness, or life that just sometimes gets in the way so I end up shooting my kids in or around our house. Sometimes it is difficult to see the same spots in a new way, but this has challenged me to learn to look for light, leading lines, and different ways to view my scene to tell the story I’m envisioning. Also, there are times where my house is just a mess and I have to be creative to avoid the clutter or unnecessary items in my frame.



You have a unique perspective - embrace it!

Like everyone else I sometimes get down when I see all the beautiful work on social media, and while it is inspiring it is so hard not to compare. What I would give for beautiful seasonal changes and wide open spaces! Well, unfortunately that is not what I have where I live, so I all I can do is embrace the beauty in my everyday and use perspectives to enhance and tell my unique story. Remember that your story is yours to tell and no one can tell it better than you!

I hope this was helpful in incorporating new perspectives into your work. Please feel free to ask me any questions that you might have!














217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page