top of page

Self Portraits by Kristen Ryan

The Uncomplicated Self-Portrait by Kristen Ryan



I try to approach my self portraits in the most simplest ways. The easier it can be for me to set up the more likely I will do them each month. And I can still be creative with a simple setup. I would say about 90% of my self portraits are taken in the same place in my house, in front of the same window. I get very self conscious when taking them and I usually end up locking the door and turning up some music so I don't get into my own head or have other people watching me. I feel silly the entire time but I have learned to just have fun with it. Nobody has to see what I end up with. If I have one keeper out of the one hundred I took I will call it a success. I want to share with you my process and show you just how easy it can be.


Both of these photos have been taken in front of the same window. (Pictured below.)




It is a west facing window with a fence, house and some trees not far from it. Depending on the time of year, the light can be stronger or more diffused with the angle it comes in at. I usually work on my self portraits in the evening when the sun is on that side of the house. I can get such a variety of light from this window just by where I place myself.


To start I will decide what type of light I am wanting, backlit, side, dramatic, soft and diffused etc. Then I will place my tripod in the correct angle for that light. When I am trying to get my focus for my self portraits I always use my tripod as my focal point. I set my tripod up and then sit where I plan on taking the photos, from that spot I will focus my camera back onto my tripod. The distance is the same and this way I don't have to try to find something to set up in my spot to focus on. I will set my remote down to mark my spot while I go and put my camera onto my tripod. I then take a handful of photos before checking my focus and exposure, adjusting as needed.


This image was taken with the window camera left. It was the last light of the day. The sun had already set and it was a very soft low light. I sat a chair only a couple of feet away from the window and exposed for the light hitting my skin. I was able to just hold my hand out in front of the camera to meter the light and I knew everything else would just fall into darkness behind me.


My settings were: 35mm f/2 1/60sec




For this image I made my focus the water on the window, I wanted myself to be out of focus. It was a windy, cold and rainy day. I knew I could get some movement from the wind if I stood outside. So I set my camera up inside and set a wide aperture for the water droplets on the window and I went outside with my remote and waited for the wind. This took a lot of walking in and out to check my images but I liked what ended up with.


My settings: 50mm f/2.8 1/125sec




This evening the light was coming in strong, I liked the defined lines from the blinds. The window is camera right, I sat my tripod up a few feet in front of and slightly above me. I exposed for the harsh light, letting everything else fall into darkness behind me.


My settings: 35mm f/2 1/4000sec




For this image I stood a few feet from the window. (camera left) I faced the window and just did a few hair flips. I use a remote shutter for all of these photos. I try to keep in mind my depth of field. I imagine in my head a box that I need to stay with-in to make sure that I will get focus. I make sure to go and check every 5-10 photos to be sure as well.


My settings: 50mm f/1.8 1/500sec




Here I was facing the window. The tripod was set up between my self and the window. It after the sun had already gone down so it was very soft and diffused. I was simply tossing my hair around and letting it fall to get some movement. I liked how the hair fell across my face adding some shadows and a little more depth in an otherwise pretty flat image.


My settings: 35mm f/2 1/40sec






These three photos were taken all in the same evening with the same window in the same spot, All I used was some poster board and cheap fabric from a local craft store. I sat up a make shift backdrop stand using some pvc pipes (you can find plans for that on Pinterest). I simply rotated the stand around the window for the different light. The top left photo, (the green background) I was facing the window with the direct light shining right onto the backdrop and myself. I metered for the harsh light and tried to only keep my eyes in the light. The top right photo (pink background) I pulled my backdrop back out of the direct sun and it gave me a softer more even lighting. In the bottom left (with the flowers) I turned my background around with the window behind my backdrop. I lowered it down to let the sun come just over the top of it. I was sitting on the floor with my camera a few feet in front of me but placed it directly in the light to give me that flare from the sun. Bottom right (the red background) I rotated my stand once again making the the window camera right, giving me some great side light. I raised my stand and draped some red fabric over it. Four different looks and lit all with the same light source and same room, it can't get more simple than that!

142 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page