top of page

Self Portraits by Kristin Metiva

Unscripted Self-portraits by Kristin Metiva

I started taking self portraits with my kids just over a year ago, simply because I wanted to be in more pictures with them. I was surprised at how quickly my photographs started to improve. I was learning about light, my camera, how to get my kids engaged and most importantly how to become comfortable being vulnerable which has done wonders for me when it comes to working with clients. Self-portraits completely changed the way I interact with clients. It can be uncomfortable stepping in front of the camera, so it’s important to understand how your client is feeling and be able to empathize with them.


So getting down to the nitty gritty of how I take self portraits…For starters, I’m not a planner. Trying to balance active kids, work, heck…life in general, I mean…I haven’t even had time to get school supplies or this weeks groceries! So planning out self-portraits or any portrait for that matter just isn’t in the cards for me right now. These tips and tricks are probably more for the parent that can relate to this stage of life I’m in.


Tip #1

LET THE KIDS DO IT

I love having my kids in self-portraits because they truly feel like part of me. I almost always let my kids push the shutter button when taking pictures together. My camera is set in the 10 sec. timer mode. They push the button and run into the frame. This method works great for us because it creates fun spontaneous moments.





Tip #2

FORGET THE TRIPOD

I rarely ever use a tripod because honestly, I don’t have the patience to set them up. I just use whatever is available to me. I set my camera on the nightstand, a chair or stack of books and lately I’ve been using laundry baskets. I just flip the basket over, throw a book on top to level it off and call it good.





Tip #3

FIND THE LIGHT

Depending on the time of day, the light shines in our home at different angles. I look for which room the light is facing and go with that spot to shoot in. Mornings and evenings seem to be the best time to catch those warm sun beams.




Tip #4

SET YOUR FOCUS

If I’m shooting with my kids, this part is easy. I adjust my settings and plop myself in position in front of the camera. When my son pushes the shutter button, the focus is on me and then my kids hop in the frame. I don’t mind the blur in the images or if one person is out of focus, all I care about is how the picture makes me feel. When shooting alone, I use whatever I can get my hands on as a focal point. Again, laundry baskets work great for this! Focus your camera on the laundry basket and then go ahead and take it’s place. Throw that laundry basket right across the room…it feels good! Then pose and snap the picture.





Tip #5

LET GO

I’ve grown to love self portraits so much that I even get in the frame completely ALONE! DUN-DUN-DUNNNN! Ok, it’s really not that bad. At first, it’s awkward and you hope your husband doesn’t come home early and catch you posing with a dead leaf in front of your face. But really, I can’t explain it, allowing yourself to let go and create simply for you is freeing and what better model to practice on than yourself.









193 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page